Dani Pedrosa put the Aragon accident and controversy behind him by dominating opening practice for the Malaysian MotoGP at Sepang.

The Repsol Honda star, left battered and bruised by the Aragon incident, set a 2m 1.229s on the sixth of his 17 laps, keeping him on top to the end.

Pedrosa finished the session 0.317s ahead of rookie team-mate and title leader Marc Marquez, with Yamaha's reigning double champion Jorge Lorenzo +0.394s in third.

Related Articles

Gresini Honda's Alvaro Bautista and Lorenzo's team-mate Valentino Rossi were the final riders within one-second of Pedrosa.

Marquez was handed one more penalty point on Thursday - effectively a final warning - for the contact with Pedrosa at Aragon.

That contact severed a rear-wheel sensor cable, disabling Pedrosa's traction control and causing a heavy fall. Honda also lost its 25 points for Marquez's Aragon race win.

Pedrosa refused to comment on Race Direction's decision, but Lorenzo taunted the verdict by claiming they should encourage such incidents by awarding extra championship points as "it's what everyone wants for the show".

With four races and a maximum of 100 points available, Marquez holds a 39-point advantage over Lorenzo and 59 point lead over Pedrosa.

Aside from the championship damage, Pedrosa revealed he had been unable to walk for three days after Aragon due to pain in his hip, but came out fighting on Friday morning - his best lap almost equalling the official race lap record.

Pedrosa - winner of last year's wet Sepang race - topped the times on five of the six days of pre-season testing at Sepang in February, with Lorenzo quickest for Yamaha on day two of the second test.

The second half of the top ten was led by Monster Yamaha Tech 3's Cal Crutchlow, followed by Stefan Bradl (Honda LCR), Nicky Hayden (Ducati), Bradley Smith (Tech 3) and Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati).

Dovizioso ran off-track at the very end of the session after a front-end moment.

Colin Edwards began the weekend well with eleventh place and top CRT in FP1. The Forward Racing rider was half-a-second behind Dovizioso and ahead of both Pramac Ducatis.

Free Practice 1:
1. Dani Pedrosa
2. Marc Marquez
3. Jorge Lorenzo
4. Alvaro Bautista
5. Valentino Rossi
6. Cal Crutchlow
7. Stefan Bradl
8. Nicky Hayden
9. Bradley Smith
10. Andrea Dovizioso
11. Colin Edwards
12. Andrea Iannone
13. Aleix Espargaro
14. Hiroshi Aoyama
15. Hector Barbera
16. Claudio Corti
17. Yonny Hernandez
18. Randy De Puniet
19. Michael Laverty
20. Danilo Petrucci
21. Luca Scassa
22. Bryan Staring
23. Damian Cudlin
24. Lukas Pesek