Dani Pedrosa and Marc Marquez repeated their one-two positions during Friday afternoon practice for the Malaysian MotoGP at Sepang.

Riding on an almost dry surface after earlier rain, Pedrosa's 2m 1.229s morning time was broken by Repsol Honda team-mate Marquez just before the halfway stage of the 45-minutes.

The rookie title leader was still at the head of the timesheets with nine minutes to go, when Pedrosa - who fell after contact from Marquez disabled his traction control last time at Aragon - shot from fifth to first by a margin of 0.533s.

Related Articles

That lap put Pedrosa on the edge of Jorge Lorenzo's official pole record, and the top two positions and lap times remained unchanged to the chequered flag. Pedrosa has slipped to 59 points from Marquez after the Aragon incident and is all but out of the title fight with four rounds to go.

Lorenzo, third this morning, had spent the first 15 minutes in-and-out of the pits while working on braking settings for his Yamaha. He then went third quickest - behind Alvaro Bautista and Pedrosa - on his first full lap.

But the reigning double world champion continued to look agitated in the pits and was the only rider in the top ten who didn't improve on his morning time. The Spaniard, who trails Marquez by 39 points, finished the session early, in sixth position (+1.156s).

Taking over as the lead Yamaha rider in third was Tech 3's Cal Crutchlow, who improved by almost one-second to deliver a time 0.869s from Pedrosa. Lorenzo's factory team-mate Valentino Rossi was fourth and the final rider within a second of Pedrosa.

Early session leader Bautista slipped back to fifth after a fall from his Gresini Honda and was followed on the timesheets by Lorenzo, Stefan Bradl (Honda LCR), Nicky Hayden (Ducati), Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) and Bradley Smith (Tech 3).

Aspar's Aleix Espargaro returned to the role of top CRT in eleventh (+2.056s), with Forward's Colin Edwards dropping from eleventh to 14th after not improving this afternoon.

Free Practice 2:
1. Dani Pedrosa
2. Marc Marquez
3. Cal Crutchlow
4. Valentino Rossi
5. Alvaro Bautista
6. Jorge Lorenzo
7. Stefan Bradl
8. Nicky Hayden
9. Andrea Dovizioso
10. Bradley Smith
11. Aleix Espargaro
12. Andrea Iannone
13. Hector Barbera
14. Colin Edwards
15. Yonny Hernandez
16. Randy De Puniet
17. Hiroshi Aoyama
18. Claudio Corti
19. Danilo Petrucci
20. Michael Laverty
21. Luca Scassa
22. Bryan Staring
23. Lukas Pesek
24. Damian Cudlin