Jorge Lorenzo completed a sweep of Friday practice for the Australian MotoGP at Phillip Island, after a second session that saw problems for Repsol Honda riders Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa.

Rookie title leader Marquez, just 0.088s slower than Lorenzo this morning, highsided off his RCV after losing the rear on the rise through Lukey Heights early in the afternoon.

Marquez returned unhurt later in the session, but couldn't better sixth position and one-second from Lorenzo.

Related Articles

Pedrosa had replaced Marquez as Lorenzo's nearest rival for much of FP2, but was forced to park his RCV due to a part hanging from the side of his bike with ten minutes to go.

While Pedrosa missed out on the final laps, Gresini Honda's Alvaro Bautista - third this morning - recovered from an unseen fall to shoot from fifth to an excellent second place, albeit 0.477s behind Lorenzo's factory Yamaha. Bautista also set a new top speed record at the circuit of 343.9km/h (213.7mph).

Separating Pedrosa and Marquez this afternoon were Lorenzo's team-mate Valentino Rossi (+0.576s) and Monster Yamaha Tech 3's Cal Crutchlow (+0.706s).

Marquez - who will be crowned with two races still to go if he can increase his lead from 43 to 51 points on Sunday - was the only rider in the top 17 not to improve this afternoon. Nearest title rival Lorenzo broke the 1m 29s barrier to move to within a few tenths of Casey Stoner's 2008 pole record.

The final FP2 top ten places were formed by rookie Bradley Smith (Tech 3), fastest CRT rider Randy de Puniet (Aspar), plus Ducati team-mates Nicky Hayden and Andrea Dovizioso respectively.

Honda LCR's Stefan Bradl returned to action this morning, testing the fractured right ankle from last weekend at Sepang - for which he underwent surgery. The Honda LCR rider completed a sore 11 laps, the best of which put him 20th and 3.998s from Lorenzo.

Bradl was later declared unfit to continue, but will try again next weekend at Motegi, Japan.

Free Practice 2:
1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Alvaro Bautista
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Valentino Rossi
5. Cal Crutchlow
6. Marc Marquez
7. Bradley Smith
8. Randy De Puniet
9. Nicky Hayden
10. Andrea Dovizioso
11. Andrea Iannone
12. Colin Edwards
13. Aleix Espargaro
14. Yonny Hernandez
15. Hector Barbera
16. Hiroshi Aoyama
17. Claudio Corti
18. Danilo Petrucci
19. Michael Laverty
20. Luca Scassa
21. Bryan Staring
22. Lukas Pesek
23. Damian Cudlin