Jorge Lorenzo dominated morning warm-up for the Valencia MotoGP title decider.

Lorenzo shrugged off the qualifying engine issues to set a blistering pace from the start of the 20-minute session and was never headed.

Rookie championship leader Marc Marquez was 0.597s behind Lorenzo at the halfway stage, but gradually closed in on the Yamaha rider to conclude the session just 0.181s adrift.

Related Articles

Lorenzo then pulled up close alongside Marquez as the Honda rider prepared to make a practice start - this time without the Friday nudge to Marquez's rear wheel, but it was no coincidence.

Marquez and Lorenzo will start first and second in this afternoon's race, MotoGP's first title showdown since 2006. 20-year-old Marquez can become the youngest ever premier-class champion with a top four finish, even if Lorenzo wins the race.

Both championship rivals insist they are yet to decide on rear tyre choice, with Bridgestone's new hard rear - making its competitive debut this weekend - offering a serious alternative to the softer option.

Like all the frontrunners Lorenzo, who set a fearsome pace on the harder rear in final practice, rode with the softer rear this morning.

Cal Crutchlow, who will conclude his three-year Tech 3 Yamaha career this afternoon, was third quickest (+0.253s).

Crutchlow and rookie team-mate Bradley Smith will join Valentino Rossi on row tow of the grid. However Rossi - starting his final day alongside crew chief Jerry Burgess - and Smith were only seventh (+0.871s) and tenth (+1.394s) respectively in warm-up.

Marquez's Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa, the most successful grand prix rider at Valencia, will start alongside the title rivals in third. Pedrosa, who insists there are no team orders, completed a close warm-up top four covered by 0.260s.

LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl, Gresini Honda's Alvaro Bautista, Factory Yamaha's Rossi and Pramac Ducati's Andrea Iannone formed the remainder of the top eight.

1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Marc Marquez
3. Cal Crutchlow
4. Dani Pedrosa
5. Stefan Bradl
6. Alvaro Bautista
7. Valentino Rossi
8. Andrea Iannone
9. Nicky Hayden
10. Bradley Smith
11. Andrea Dovizioso
12. Aleix Espargaro
13. Hector Barbera
14. Michele Pirro
15. Hiroshi Aoyama
16. Danilo Petrucci
17. Colin Edwards
18. Randy De Puniet
19. Claudio Corti
20. Yonny Hernandez
21. Luca Scassa
22. Bryan Staring
23. Michael Laverty
24. Lukas Pesek
25. Damian Cudlin
26. Martin Bauer