CLICK HERE to vote - voting ends on Friday (December 13)...

Marc Marquez made history as the youngest ever MotoGP champion by just four points over Jorge Lorenzo after a tense title showdown at Valencia.

It marked the end of a memorable year that saw Marquez spectacularly defy his rookie status, while experienced Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa and Yamaha's defending champion Lorenzo braved the pain of mid-season shoulder injuries to keep pressure on the 20-year-old.

Outside of the championship battle, Valentino Rossi returned to Yamaha and claimed his first MotoGP win since 2010, while Cal Crutchlow produced some factory-slaying performances - four podiums and two poles - on the way to top satellite honours for Monster Yamaha Tech 3.

Alvaro Bautista and Stefan Bradl tussled over top satellite Honda honours, while rookie Bradley Smith mixed it with the official Ducatis of Nicky Hayden and Andrea Dovizioso in the second half of the season. Some heated battles between the Desmosedici riders proved they had lost none of their fight despite struggling to match the pace of the Hondas and Yamahas.

The tail-end manufacturer riders were often under threat from top CRT rider Aleix Espargaro, who flattened the opposition in the privateer class on his way to eleventh in the overall standings.

But who was your star of the year?

We need you to award each rider with a mark out of ten to decide's MotoGP star of 2013. The outcome will be decided by the average score for each rider with a rundown of the full results - showing how highly you rated each MotoGP competitor - announced in December.

It's your vote, which means the criterion is entirely up to you.

If you feel results are all that matter in racing, vote according to the championship standings or race wins. However most will feel factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality should also be taken into account.

Remember, it's not just about who you want as the winner - often the most difficult decisions will be how highly to mark riders that finished lower down in the standings, on less competitive machinery.

We've included almost the entire full-time 2013 grid for you to vote on - listed in alphabetical order - only Ben Spies and Karel Abraham, who missed large parts of the season through injury, are absent.

Last year was the first year that the MotoGP champion had not been voted as the star of the year, will that be repeated in 2013?

CLICK HERE to vote, then explain your choice in the comments section below...'s MotoGP Star of the Year winners: 2013: ? 2012: Dani Pedrosa 2011: Casey Stoner 2010: Jorge Lorenzo 2009: Valentino Rossi 2008: Valentino Rossi


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment