5th - Aleix Espargaro Average score out of ten: 6.97 Team: Power Electronics Aspar Bike: ART (CRT) Wins: 0 CRT class wins: 14 Podiums: 0 Poles: 0 Fastest Laps: 0 Championship points: 93 (5.2 points per start average) Championship position: 11th out of 27 CRT Championship position: 1st out of 12

Many said there was nothing to gain from riding in the privateer CRT MotoGP category, but fifth place in the Crash.net poll for Aleix Espargaro at least proves that fans appreciate the 'underdog' achievements by those on less competitive machinery.

You gave Espargaro an average score of 6.97 out of 10, placing the Spaniard ahead of all but one satellite rider and he even edged out Factory Yamaha race winner Valentino Rossi (by 0.06).

If Rossi suffered in the vote due to a much higher scoring team-mate, Espargaro was surely boosted by the comparison - pulling in more than two and a half times as many points as fellow Aspar rider Randy de Puniet.

And while Espargaro may not have finished higher than eighth overall in a race - on his way to eleventh in the championship - his dominance of the CRT class this year was exceptional: 14 privateer victories from 18 events meant Espargaro gathered more than double the points of nearest rival Colin Edwards.

Indeed, there were often times when it wasn't a question of whether Espargaro would finish as top CRT, but which manufacturer riders he would embarrass in the process - both in qualifying and the race.

With CRT changing to the revised Open class, Espargaro's efforts on the Aprilia have earned him a ride on the new Forward Racing Yamaha for 2014.

About the vote:
Over 30,000 votes were cast for the 2013 Crash.net MotoGP Star of the Year poll, where viewers were asked to award each of this year's full-time participants - only Ben Spies and Karel Abraham, injured for large parts of the season, were not included - with a mark out of ten.

The average score for each rider was then used to determine the final ranking, which will be revealed in full once the winner is announced.

Voting instructions were as follows: "It's your vote, which means the criterion is entirely up to you. If you feel results are all that matter in racing, vote according to the championship standings or race wins. However most will feel factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality should also be taken into account.

"Remember, it's not just about who you want as the winner - often the most difficult decisions will be how highly to mark riders that finished lower down in the standings, on less competitive machinery."

Last year was the first year that the reigning MotoGP world champion had not won the Crash.net vote, will that be repeated in 2013?

2013 MotoGP Rider of the Year: Results so far 5th Aleix Espargaro SPA Power Electronics Aspar 6.97 6th Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing 6.91 7th Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP 6.29 8th Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 6.17 9th Alvaro Bautista SPA Go&Fun Honda Gresini 5.90 10th Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team 5.48

Like MotoGP? 'Like' the Crash.net Facebook page to receive news directly to your timeline...


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment