3rd - Dani Pedrosa Average score out of ten: 7.62 Team: Repsol Honda Team Bike: RC213V (Factory) Wins: 3 Podiums: 13 Poles: 2 Fastest Laps: 4 Championship points: 300 (17.6 points per start average) Championship position: 3rd of 27

2012 vote winner Dani Pedrosa slips to third place in this year's poll, matching his position in the World Championship.

Having just missed out on that elusive first MotoGP title in 2012, Pedrosa came into the new season not only looking to go one step better, but assert his authority as Repsol Honda team leader in the wake of Casey Stoner's exit and rookie Marc Marquez's much anticipated arrival.

But Pedrosa was soon battling to contain Marquez and a mid-season Sachsenring shoulder injury saw momentum shift irrevocably to the 20-year-old.

To his credit, some of Pedrosa's eventual 30 point deficit to champion Marquez can be explained by his Sachsenring injury - not to mention a further non-score due to the freak accident with Marquez at Aragon.

Nevertheless, Marquez and Jorge Lorenzo also suffered two non-scores this season and Pedrosa simply needed more race wins: His three victories compared with six for Marquez and eight for Lorenzo, who also suffered shoulder injuries.

About the vote:
Over 30,000 votes were cast for the 2013 Crash.net MotoGP Star of the Year poll, where viewers were asked to award each of this year's full-time participants - only Ben Spies and Karel Abraham, injured for large parts of the season, were not included - with a mark out of ten.

The average score for each rider was then used to determine the final ranking, which will be revealed in full once the winner is announced.

Voting instructions were as follows: "It's your vote, which means the criterion is entirely up to you. If you feel results are all that matter in racing, vote according to the championship standings or race wins. However most will feel factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality should also be taken into account.

"Remember, it's not just about who you want as the winner - often the most difficult decisions will be how highly to mark riders that finished lower down in the standings, on less competitive machinery."

Last year was the first year that the reigning MotoGP world champion had not won the Crash.net vote, will that be repeated in 2013?

2013 MotoGP Rider of the Year: Results so far 3rd Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team 7.624th Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 7.20 5th Aleix Espargaro SPA Power Electronics Aspar 6.97 6th Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing 6.91 7th Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP 6.29 8th Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 6.17 9th Alvaro Bautista SPA Go&Fun Honda Gresini 5.90 10th Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team 5.48

Like MotoGP? 'Like' the Crash.net Facebook page to receive news directly to your timeline...