Rookie MotoGP champion Marc Marquez has been voted ahead of F1 star Kimi Raikkonen and WSBK title winner Tom Sykes to become's 2013 Racer of the Year.

Having already won this year's MotoGP Star of the Year vote, 20-year-old Marquez - the youngest premier-class champion in motorcycle grand prix history - went head-to-head with poll winners from nine other motorsport championships to decide the overall Racer title.

Viewers were asked to award each driver/rider with a score out of ten, the average value of which was used to determine who you thought was 'best of the best' in 2013. Voting was open for one week with almost 10,000 votes cast.

Related Articles

Repsol Honda rider Marquez topped the Racer vote with an average score of 8.01 out of 10, comparing with 7.42 for next best Raikkonen, a surprise winner of the F1 poll. A similar margin separated Raikkonen from Kawasaki star Sykes (6.96) who completed the Racer of the Year 'podium'.

Rally driver Robert Kubica was second best of the four-wheel competitors, with BSB champion Alex Lowes and road racing star Michael Dunlop completing the top six.

Marquez returns the Racer of the Year title to MotoGP - predecessor Casey Stoner winning the inaugural 2011 Racer vote, before F1's Fernando Alonso emerged on top of last year's poll.'s 2013 Racer of the Year - Results:

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (MotoGP) 8.01 out of 10
2. Kimi Raikkonen FIN Lotus-Renault (F1) 7.42
3. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing (WSBK) 6.96
4. Robert Kubica POL Lotos Dynamic Rally/Abu Dhabi Citroen Total (WRC) 6.76
5. Alex Lowes GBR Samsung Honda (BSB) 6.49
6. Michael Dunlop GBR Honda TT Legends/MD Racing (Road Racing) 6.29
7. Scott Dixon NZ Target Chip Ganassi Racing (IndyCar) 5.18
8. Andrew Jordan GBR Pirtek Racing (BTCC) 5.07
9. Sam Bird GBR Russian Time (GP2) 4.97
10. Matt Kenseth USA Joe Gibbs Racing (NASCAR) 4.63