This weekend at Le Mans will see reigning MotoGP champion Marc Marquez attempt to increase his 2014 win streak to five in a row.

Marquez is the first rider to win the opening four races of the season since Mick Doohan in 1992, while the most recent rider to win five in succession was Valentino Rossi in 2008.

"It was a great moment for me," recalled Rossi. "When you are able to win five races in a row it is fantastic, great shape.

Related Articles

"It was 2008 and began with victory in Laguna Seca and continued from there and gave me the championship - so I hope Marque doesn't win [five]!

"I will try to give him some problems [this weekend]... If I had to give Marc some advice I would say four wins is enough!"

Marquez, who has won all four 2014 races from pole position, holds a 28 points lead over team-mate Dani Pedrosa, with Rossi third in the standings for Yamaha.

As well as 2008, Rossi won five in a row during 2005 and seven races in a row during 2002. Doohan claimed ten in a row in 1997.