CLICK HERE to view full Free Practice 1 results for the Dutch MotoGP round.

Thursday morning's opening practice session for the Dutch MotoGP ended with rookie Pol Espargaro leading brother Aleix at the head of the Assen timesheets.

After an early off-track moment, reigning MotoGP champion Marc Marquez had been fastest as the final minute began - only for Jorge Lorenzo, Aleix and then Pol Espargaro to take over the top spot in quick succession.

Related Articles

Aleix, who had used the soft Open class tyre to record his best time, was left 0.189s behind his younger brother with Lorenzo - who fractured his collarbone on Thursday last year only to make a shock return to claim fifth in the race - 0.206s adrift in third.

Marquez, who will be fighting to extend his perfect season with an eighth win in a row on Saturday, finished 0.240s from former Moto2 rival Pol.

Pol's team-mate Bradley Smith and Lorenzo's team-mate Valentino Rossi, winner of last year's race, also led the session on their way to fifth (+0.385s) and sixth (0.444s) respectively.

Smith was without usual crew chief Guy Coulon this morning while one of his mechanics has been injured in a cycling accident.

Riding in cool, breezy and overcast conditions, Andrea Dovizioso was the first of the Ducatis - which also have access to the soft Open tyre - in seventh place (+0.539s). Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda), Alvaro Bautista (Gresini Honda) and Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda) completing a top ten covered by 1.355s.

Aleix's team-mate Colin Edwards was a better than usual twelfth on the FTR frame, with 2013 pole sitter Cal Crutchlow in 13th for Ducati, just ahead of countryman and top Production Honda rider Scott Redding (+1.823s).

Free Practice 1:
1. Pol Espargaro
2. Aleix Espargaro
3. Jorge Lorenzo
4. Marc Marquez
5. Bradley Smith
6. Valentino Rossi
7. Andrea Dovizioso
8. Dani Pedrosa
9. Alvaro Bautista
10. Stefan Bradl
11. Andrea Iannone
12. Colin Edwards
13. Cal Crutchlow
14. Scott Redding
15. Yonny Hernandez
16. Karel Abraham
17. Hiroshi Aoyama
18. Broc Parkes
19. Nicky Hayden
20. Hector Barbera
21. Michael Laverty
22. Mike Di Meglio
23. Danilo Petrucci