CLICK HERE to view full Free Practice 3 results for the Dutch MotoGP round.

Day one of the Dutch MotoGP was dominated by the Espargaro brothers, with Pol leading FP1 then Aleix setting a new lap record to top FP2 at Assen.

Monster Yamaha Tech 3 rookie Pol had been fastest by 0.189s from older brother Aleix this morning, but Movistar Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo surpassed Pol's time after just a few minutes of the warmer afternoon session.

Related Articles

Reigning champion Marc Marquez then saved a leg-off, rear wheel slide - while at maximum lean - to set the first sub-1m 34s lap of the weekend shortly after.

The Repsol Honda star, unbeaten in 2014, remained at the head of the timesheets right until one minute to go, when Aleix again threw the Open class soft rear tyre into his Forward Yamaha.

The resulting 1m 33.653s was also a new official lap record, beating Casey Stoner's 2012 pace, with Marquez 0.211s behind after improving slightly on his penultimate lap.

Team-mate Dani Pedrosa made greater late gains, snatching third (+0.416s) on his final lap. By contrast, Lorenzo's third lap of the session remained his best as he slipped to fourth (+0.495s).

Pramac's Andrea Iannone, who also has the Open class soft tyre available, was fifth and top Ducati (+0.624s). Tech 3's Bradley Smith and Movistar's Valentino Rossi - last year's winner - were exactly tied for sixth (+0.633s).

Smith expects to have crew chief Guy Coulon back at his side for Friday.

Pol Espargaro couldn't repeat his morning heroics and was left to settle for seventh in FP2 (+0.755s), with LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl and Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso completing the provisional list of riders receiving direct access to Friday's Qualifying 2 session.

Currently outside of the cut-off are Factory class riders Alvaro Bautista (Gresini Honda) and Cal Crutchlow (Ducati) - Bautista's rookie Open class team-mate Scott Redding separating the pair after a strong performance in FP2.

Free Practice 2:
1. Aleix Espargaro
2. Marc Marquez
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Jorge Lorenzo
5. Andrea Iannone
6. Bradley Smith
7. Valentino Rossi
8. Pol Espargaro
9. Stefan Bradl
10. Andrea Dovizioso
11. Alvaro Bautista
12. Scott Redding
13. Cal Crutchlow
14. Yonny Hernandez
15. Colin Edwards
16. Hiroshi Aoyama
17. Nicky Hayden
18. Karel Abraham
19. Broc Parkes
20. Hector Barbera
21. Michael Laverty
22. Danilo Petrucci
23. Mike Di Meglio