CLICK HERE to view full Free Practice 3 results for the Dutch MotoGP round.

Last year's Assen MotoGP winner Valentino Rossi set the pace during a damp Friday morning practice in The Netherlands.

The Movistar Yamaha rider, joint sixth fastest with Bradley Smith after a sunny Thursday, was one of only a handful of riders to put in a serious effort on slick tyres as conditions improved during the final ten minutes.

Related Articles

Rossi's best time of 1m 34.650s - which put him 0.262s ahead of Alvaro Bautista at the end of the session - was within 0.4s of his Thursday best.

Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso and LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl were the only other riders within one-second of Rossi, although the likes of Marc Marquez, Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo did not record a flying lap.

Likewise, Thursday pace setter Aleix Espargaro and younger brother Pol, fastest in FP1, did not set a competitive lap time this morning.

Light rain began falling just as the FP3 session got underway, sending riders back to the pits.

Smith was then first to return, on wet tyres, after 15 of the 45 minutes and most others also opted to gauge grip levels in the damp conditions, but the surface was too dry for any lengthy runs.

All of which was bad news for the likes of Bautista and Cal Crutchlow, who needed to try and break into the combined practice top ten for direct entry to this afternoon's Qualifying 2 session.

With that in mind, and the rain having halted, Bautista led the switch back to slicks for the final ten minutes.

The Gresini Honda rider only needed to find a 0.006s improvement on his Thursday time - when he was held up by traffic - to displace Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso, but was ultimately left half a second short.

Heavier rain returned shortly after the end of the session and the off-on weather is predicted to continue for the rest of the day.

The short FP4 will take place this afternoon, prior to the Qualifying 1 and Qualifying 2 sessions.

Free Practice 3:
1. Valentino Rossi
2. Alvaro Bautista
3. Andrea Dovizioso
4. Stefan Bradl
5. Bradley Smith
6. Karel Abraham
7. Nicky Hayden
8. Scott Redding
9. Yonny Hernandez
10. Cal Crutchlow
11. Mike Di Meglio
12. Broc Parkes
13. Hiroshi Aoyama
14. Hector Barbera
15. Andrea Iannone
16. Michael Laverty
17. Colin Edwards
Aleix Espargaro
Pol Espargaro
Danilo Petrucci
Dani Pedrosa
Marc Marquez
Jorge Lorenzo