Marc Marquez, Jorge Lorenzo and Stefan Bradl completed warm-up for this afternoon's German MotoGP covered by just 0.034s.

Pole sitter Marquez, gunning for a perfect ninth win of the season this afternoon, took the top spot from Lorenzo for the second and final time after eleven of the 20-minutes.

The reigning champion's best lap was a 1m 22.057s, over one-second from his record pole time on the Repsol Honda and just 0.010s quicker than second row starter Lorenzo.

Related Articles

Home star Bradl completed the ultra-close top three for LCR Honda, underlining his podium potential from the front row of the grid.

In terms of consistency, Lorenzo set the most sub-1m 22.5s laps with nine this morning, followed by seven for Marquez and three for Bradl.

Lorenzo's Movistar Yamaha team-mate Valentino Rossi also set three sub-1m 22.5s laps on his way to fourth (+0.288s). Lorenzo and Rossi will line-up fifth and sixth on the grid after tyre problems in qualifying.

With the Sachsenring weather still uncertain, the top riders all practised bike swaps in warm-up.

Lorenzo did a Marc Marquez-style leap from one bike straight to another for the first time, prompting smiles from Marquez and his team when watching a replay on TV afterwards, but the Repsol Honda bike swaps had not gone as smoothly.

Dani Pedrosa was furious when his swap was ruined by a cameraman blocking his way, while Marquez was momentarily held up by one of his own team as he reached the pit box.

Marquez had snaked the rear tyre into pit lane as he hit the brakes at the last moment before the speed limit, indicating that while others now starting to copy his bike swap technique the Spaniard himself is working on gaining time on the way in and out of the pits.

Pedrosa, who will line-up between Marquez and Bradl on the front row, was fifth fastest in warm-up (+0.289s) with only one lap below 1m 22.5s.

1. Marc Marquez
2. Jorge Lorenzo
3. Stefan Bradl
4. Valentino Rossi
5. Dani Pedrosa
6. Aleix Espargaro
7. Pol Espargaro
8. Andrea Dovizioso
9. Alvaro Bautista
10. Cal Crutchlow
11. Hiroshi Aoyama
12. Bradley Smith
13. Nicky Hayden
14. Andrea Iannone
15. Scott Redding
16. Karel Abraham
17. Colin Edwards
18. Yonny Hernandez
19. Hector Barbera
20. Michael Laverty
21. Mike Di Meglio
22. Broc Parkes
23. Danilo Petrucci