CLICK HERE to view full Qualifying results for the Indianapolis MotoGP.

The irrepressible Marc Marquez underscored his prospects of a 10th straight MotoGP victory with a scorching lap to claim pole for the Indianapolis MotoGP.

The Repsol Honda rider clocked a best time of 1m 36.619s in Q2 to take the top spot by 0.225s from the brilliant Andrea Dovizioso, who earned an impressive front row start on the Ducati ahead of Movistar Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo.

Related Articles

Two-time premier class world champion Lorenzo was 0.250s off Marquez's flyer at the new-look Indy circuit as he rounded out the front row on the factory YZR M1.

Forward Yamaha's Aleix Espargaro heads up row two following a lap in 1m 32.113, which left him almost half-a-second off the pole time set by Marquez.

The Spaniard is joined on the second row by Valentino Rossi and Monster Tech 3 Yamaha's Pol Espargaro. Rossi was in 10th place with a lap to go but hauled himself up the grid on the second of the factory Movistar Yamaha machines.

Marquez got a bit out of shape at the beginning of Q2 at T1 but of course it didn't faze him in the slightest and he toppled Lorenzo from the top spot soon after, with a 1m 37.7s lap.

The world champion went on to improve further to a 1m 36.619s, with Dovizioso reaping the benefits as he tagged in behind the Honda star to post the second fastest time.

Bradley Smith came off heavily at T1 as he began his last flying lap and although he looked in some discomfort, the young British rider was up on his feet. Smith will start tomorrow's race from row three in ninth position on the Monster Yamaha Tech 3.

Dani Pedrosa has work to do from eighth place as he ended Q2 behind the Pramac Ducati of Andrea Iannone, 0.712s behind Marquez.

LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl was 10th, with British pair Scott Redding on the Open class Gresini Honda and Ducati's Cal Crutchlow completing the top 12.

Redding led the way in Q1 from Crutchlow as the pair progressed to Q2 ahead of Yonny Hernandez (Pramac Ducati) and Alvaro Bautista on the Gresini RC213V.

Leon Camier, making his MotoGP debut in place of the injured Nicky Hayden, qualified the Aspar Open class Honda an excellent 16th out of 23 riders.

Qualifying 2:
1. Marc Marquez
2. Andrea Dovizioso
3. Jorge Lorenzo
4. Aleix Espargaro
5. Valentino Rossi
6. Pol Espargaro
7. Andrea Iannone
8. Dani Pedrosa
9. Bradley Smith
10. Stefan Bradl
11. Scott Redding
12. Cal Crutchlow