MotoGP champion Marc Marquez has won the opening ten races of the season, heading into this weekend's round in the Czech Republic.

This is where the 21-year-old Spaniard now stands in terms of all-time premier-class records:

*Victory for Marquez at Brno would make him the first rider in history to win the opening eleven races of a season.

Related Articles

* Prior to Marquez, the last rider to win ten successive 500cc/MotoGP races was Mick Doohan in 1997. Doohan's victory run began at round four and continued until round 14.

* As well as Marquez and Doohan, three other riders have won ten or more successive races:
Giacomo Agostini achieved a 20 race streak during the 1968 and 1969 seasons. Agostini won all ten rounds in '68 and another ten at the start of the (twelve round) '69 season. Agostini did not race in the last two rounds.
Mike Hailwood took twelve successive wins spread over 1963 (last six races) and 1964 (opening six races).
John Surtees notched up eleven wins in a row during 1958 (last two rounds), 1959 (all seven rounds) and 1960 (opening two rounds).

*Only three riders have won more than ten races (total wins, not wins in a row) during a single 500cc/MotoGP season: They are Mick Doohan (12 wins, 1997), Valentino Rossi (11 wins, 2001, 2002, 2005) and Giacomo Agostini (11 wins, 1972).