Jorge Lorenzo dominated morning warm-up for the Czech Republic MotoGP at a cold and overcast Brno.

The Spaniard - seeking a better set-up for the bumps this morning - repeatedly beat his own best lap time, finishing with a 0.477s advantage over nearest rival Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati).

To put that into perspective, Lorenzo qualified sixth on the grid with a lap time only 0.230s from Marc Marquez.

Related Articles

On pole for the ninth time this year, Marquez will become the first ever rider to win the opening eleven races if he takes victory this afternoon. The Repsol Honda rider was third quickest this morning, 0.494s from Lorenzo.

After a fumbling bike swap practice at the start of the session, Marquez's team-mate Dani Pedrosa went on to take fourth place, with Pramac's Andrea Iannone fifth.

Iannone will join Marquez and Dovizioso on this afternoon's front row: Iannone got a tow from Marquez in qualifying, but Dovizioso set his lap time alone.

LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl was an improved sixth in warm-up, with Bradley Smith - who will start ahead of Pedrosa and Lorenzo on row two of the grid - in seventh for Monster Yamaha Tech 3. The Englishman was the final rider within one-second of Lorenzo.

Lorenzo's team-mate Valentino Rossi, riding with a left little finger injury after a big accident in final practice, had problems starting his bike before going on to set the ninth best warm-up time.

The Italian - who will make a record-equalling 245th premier-class start this afternoon - separated the Espargaro brothers, with Aleix (Forward Yamaha) in eighth and Pol (Tech3) in tenth.

Alvaro Bautista (Gresini Honda) was again outside the top ten, being followed on the timesheets by a trio of Ducati riders: Cal Crutchlow, Michele Pirro and Yonny Hernandez.

Aspar's Hiroshi Aoyama was the leading Open Honda rider, with Scott Redding 16th after an early fall.

1. Lorenzo
2. Dovizioso
3. Marquez
4. Pedrosa
5. Iannone
6. Bradl
7. Smith
8. A Espargaro
9. Rossi
10. P Espargaro
11. Bautista
12. Crutchlow
13. Pirro
14. Hernandez
15. Aoyama
16. Redding
17. Abraham
18. Camier
19. de Angelis
20. Barbera
21. Petrucci
22. Parkes
23. Laverty
24. di Meglio