Marc VDS rider Mika Kallio concentrated on his performance in the final sector at Misano to claim pole for the San Marino Grand Prix.

It is Kallio's third pole this season and he went on to win on both previous occasions when he topped the qualifying timesheets.

The Kalex rider's time of 1m 38.043 took him to the top in a tense, close session where the top seventeen riders all set a time within one-second of his best lap.

Related Articles

Team-mate and title leader Tito Rabat kicked out in the direction of Ricky Cardus on his way to second, just 0.067s slower than the Finn.

Interwetten Paddock rider Tom Luthi survived a late wobble after being the pace-setter for much of qualifying on his way to third, the best placed of the Suter riders after holding on to a front row start.

Maverick Vinales wrestled his wild looking Paginas Amarillas HP 40 machine into fourth to head up row two.

The Spaniard is joined by Technomag carXpert rider Dominique Aegerter in fifth and the AirAsia Caterham of Silverstone pole man Johann Zarco in sixth.

A best ever qualifying performance sees Ricky Cardus start from seventh for the Tech 3 team.

Also on row three are an improving Taka Nakagami in eighth and Randy Krummenacher who held on to ninth despite a late crash for Octo IodaRacing Team.

Axel Pons continues his good run of form in tenth for AGR Team, ahead of his Team-mate Jonas Folger who qualified twelfth.

There was also action off the track for the Spaniard as reports suggest Pons clashed with Kallio in pit lane pushing the Finn and his bike into the pit wall.

Sandro Cortese hit the gravel in the closing minutes but hold on to 14th on the grid, and was closely followed into the gravel by Krummenacher.

Nico Terol returns to the action to start 16th for Mapfre Aspar.

It was another tough day for the British riders in Moto2 with Sam Lowes, riding with a cracked bone in his ankle, struggling to find a good setting and despite working hard in the pits with the Speed Up Team to improve his gear settings he could only manage 24th.

Gino Rea also struggled to find a setting that would give him an advantage and starts down in 28th for AGT REA Racing.

Ratthapark Wilairot returns to Moto2 with the AirAsia Caterham team, replacing the departing Josh Herrin and qualified 29th.

Florian Marino has a replacement ride, with NGM Forward Racing, sitting in for the injured Simone Corsi. The Italian took 26th spot on the grid.

Federico Caricasulo replaces injured Tetsuta Nagashima in Misano for Teluru Team JiR Webike for 34thon the grid.

Wild-card entries Federico Fuligni (Ciatti) and Miroslav Popov (Montaze Broz Racing Team) start 33rd & 36th respectively.