CLICK HERE to view full Free Practice 2 results for the Aragon MotoGP.

Ducati grabbed the Friday headlines at the Aragon MotoGP by leading both practice sessions with its new GP14.2 machine.

Pramac's Andrea Iannone put the evolution model fastest this morning, in a session that saw a fiery incident for Avintia's Hector Barbera, making his debut on an Open class Desmosedici.

Related Articles

Factory Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso also has a GP14.2 available, but had opted to start the weekend on the usual GP14. The Italian duly switched to the 14.2 this afternoon, when he snatched the top spot away from world champion Marc Marquez by 0.043s in the final minutes.

The caveat was that Dovizioso ran the soft rear tyre to set that time, with Iannone - whose morning time came on the medium rubber - also making use of the special Open class rubber to take a late fourth in FP2 (+0.462s). The main change for the 14.2 is a narrower rider position and more set-up options.

Dani Pedrosa joined Repsol Honda team-mate Marquez in being sandwiched between the GP14.2s on the final Friday timesheets.

Although they do not have the soft rear available, the Factory class Honda and Yamaha riders ran a wide variety of tyres this afternoon. Marquez and Pedrosa spent most time on the hardest rear while the Yamahas preferred the medium rear - but with Jorge Lorenzo seen trying the very softest front.

Lorenzo was left seventh (+0.664s) - behind Forward Yamaha's Aleix Espargaro and Tech 3 Yamaha's Pol Espargaro - with team-mate and Misano winner Valentino Rossi only tenth (1.027s).

LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl and Tech 3's Bradley Smith separated Lorenzo and Rossi, with Cal Crutchlow eleventh on the standard GP14. The Englishman, moving to LCR Honda next year, will not be given a GP14.2.

Barbera, who suffered burns to his arm this morning, was forced to wait in the pits while repairs continued on his bike. The Spaniard eventually returned for the second half of the session to set the 17th fastest time.

Nicky Hayden was 18th for Aspar Honda on his return from wrist surgery.

Free Practice 2:
1. Andrea Dovizioso
2. Marc Marquez
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Andrea Iannone
5. Aleix Espargaro
6. Pol Espargaro
7. Jorge Lorenzo
8. Stefan Bradl
9. Bradley Smith
10. Valentino Rossi
11. Cal Crutchlow
12. Yonny Hernandez
13. Alvaro Bautista
14. Hiroshi Aoyama
15. Alex De Angelis
16. Karel Abraham
17. Hector Barbera
18. Nicky Hayden
19. Scott Redding
20. Danilo Petrucci
21. Broc Parkes
22. Michael Laverty
23. Mike Di Meglio