CLICK HERE to view full Qualifying results for the Aragon MotoGP.

World champion Marc Marquez overcame an unexpected challenge from team-mate Dani Pedrosa to snatch pole position for the Aragon MotoGP.

Denied the chance to wrap-up the 2014 title this weekend after falling at Misano, Marquez was fastest in practice then set the tone for qualifying by beating the pole record on his first flying lap.

Related Articles

That was despite a moment under braking and the Repsol Honda star duly increased his advantage to a massive 0.698s by the end of the opening run.

But Pedrosa fought back at the start of the second run, jumping from fourth to first by 0.023s. Marquez had just one chance left to retaliate and made it count with a lap 0.362s under Pedrosa.

Andrea Iannone put the new Ducati GP14.2 on the outside of the front row in third, using the soft rear tyre, while Factory star Andrea Dovizioso - the only other rider with the evolution machine - fell at the start of his second run after being fastest in the first sector.

Row two will be headed by Monster Yamaha Tech 3's Pol Espargaro, fast all weekend, with Cal Crutchlow getting a rare Ducati highlight with fifth. The Englishman does not have a GP14.2 available as he is departing for LCR Honda at the end of the year, but matched his best qualifying of the year.

Yamaha is yet to win at Aragon and both Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo struggled with tyres in free practice. Misano winner Rossi was forced to take part in Qualifying 1 after being left eleventh after FP3, but rose to sixth on the grid in qualifying while Lorenzo sunk to seventh.

LCR Honda's Stefan Bradl, Dovizioso and Forward Yamaha's Aleix Espargaro - angry at being held up by Hector Barbera - completed the top ten. Pol Espargaro's team-mate Bradley Smith was denied the chance to improve on tenth after falling at the start of his second run.

After a 'warm welcome' to his new Avintia Ducati on Friday, Barbera tucked in behind Rossi at the end of Qualifying 1 to make his first Qualifying 2 appearance on the debut of the Open class Desmosedici. However he did not record a Qualifying 2 lap time.

Qualifying 2:
1. Marc Marquez
2. Dani Pedrosa
3. Andrea Iannone
4. Pol Espargaro
5. Cal Crutchlow
6. Valentino Rossi
7. Jorge Lorenzo
8. Stefan Bradl
9. Andrea Dovizioso
10. Aleix Espargaro
11. Bradley Smith
12. Hector Barbera


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment

Unfortunately, can't really see this being anything other than a Repsol Honda 1:2 tomorrow.
The Ducati's will probably be up there during the first half of the race but no way will their tyres last the distance.