CLICK HERE to view full Free Practice 2 results for the Malaysian MotoGP.

Jorge Lorenzo dominated a wet Free Practice 2 for the Malaysian MotoGP at Sepang on Friday afternoon.

A heavy rain storm had halted the session after just five minutes, but soon passed, allowing the 45-minues to restart in fully wet conditions.

Related Articles

Lorenzo looked instantly comfortable on the slippery surface, ruling the timesheets from the twelfth minute onwards.

Shadows and a dry line began to appear in the closing ten minutes, when world champion Marc Marquez jumped up to second place (+0.242s) and team-mate Pedrosa third (+1.079s).

Andrea Dovizioso took fourth for Ducati (+1.728s), followed by Forward Yamaha's Aleix Espargaro (+1.871s) and Avintia's Hector Barbera (+2.190s).

The riders suffering most in the wet were Lorenzo's team-mate Valentino Rossi, in 15th (+3.519s), plus Tech 3 Yamaha team-mates Pol Espargaro (16th) and Phillip Island podium finisher Bradley Smith (17th).

Pramac Ducati's Andrea Iannone fell at the final hairpin with just a few minutes remaining, holding his arm as he walked slowly away.

Due to the afternoon conditions, Pedrosa's dry morning time of 2m 1.379s was never threatened.

The Repsol Honda rider thus finished day one with a slim 0.014s advantage over Open class star Aleix Espargaro (Forward Yamaha). Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha) completed a top three covered by 0.037s.

World champion Marquez (Repsol Honda), Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda) and Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) filled the remainder of the top six positions on combined times.

Afternoon storms are a common occurrence in Kuala Lumpur. Friday's rain arrived at 2pm. Sunday's race is scheduled to start at 4pm.

The last wet Malaysian MotoGP race was in 2012, when Pedrosa took victory from Lorenzo.

Free Practice 2:
1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Marc Marquez
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Andrea Dovizioso
5. Aleix Espargaro
6. Hector Barbera
7. Stefan Bradl
8. Andrea Iannone
9. Nicky Hayden
10. Cal Crutchlow
11. Karel Abraham
12. Yonny Hernandez
13. Hiroshi Aoyama
14. Alvaro Bautista
15. Valentino Rossi
16. Pol Espargaro
17. Bradley Smith
18. Alex De Angelis
19. Michael Laverty
20. Danilo Petrucci
21. Scott Redding
22. Mike Di Meglio
23. Broc Parkes