A well-timed late lap saw Jack Miller secure his seventh pole of the season with a new lap and pole record of 2m 12.450 ahead of the Malaysian Moto3 Grand Prix at Sepang.

Meanwhile championship leader Alex Marquez had a fast fall at turn six, bringing a premature end to his session.

Changes to Miller's Red Bull KTM Ajo and good time management saw him gain some advantage in the title hunt, using the traffic to his advantage and slipstreaming to the line.

Related Articles

British rider John McPhee muscled his SaxoPrint-RTG Honda into second. The Scotsman had been fast from the offset in Sepang, and was the first man to break the track record for Moto3 in FP3, missing out by 0.4 to Miller's final fast lap while making his laps look effortless, barely breaking a sweat.

Jakub Kornfeil claims his second front row start of the season in third for Calvo Team, the Czech rider setting a series of fast laps while riding his KTM solo around the track.

Close to Kornfeil on time, but just missing out on a front row start was the second of the SaxoPrint-RTG bikes of Efren Vazquez in fourth.

Estrella Galicia's title leader Marquez was lucky to hold on to fifth as the red sectors unusually vanished in the final minutes.

An improved Romano Fenati starts sixth for Sky Racing Team VR46, Danny Kent made a brave return from his late crash to secure seventh with an impressive fast last lap to the flag.

Isaac Vinales starts eighth for Calvo Team, Miguel Oliveira ninth for Mahindra with Enea Bastianini just inside the top ten for the Junior Go & Fun team.

His team-mate Niccolo Antonelli got off to a slow start spending the first half of the session in the pits being worked on having already had the swing arm replaced in practice. An eager start saw the Italian out of his seat but staying on before settling and starts 13th.

Alex Rins once again found himself off the pace leaving him down in 17th.

Hafiq Azmi was the top home rider for SIC-AJO in 16th , improving his best qualifying performance by three places.

Elsewhere local hopes were dashed early when Zulfahmi Khairuddin was the first faller, his Ongetta AirAsia bike sliding out onto the grass at turn five and picking up damage, leaving him sat in the pits while his mechanics hastily attempted repairs, returning for the final nine minutes he starts 22nd .

Wild-card home riders Ramdan Rosli (Petronas AHM Malaysia) and Hafiza Rofa (SIC-AJO) are 21st & 31st respectively.

Scott Deroue was the next to fall shortly after Khairuddin. They were joined by Jasper Iwema, and and Aspar rider Juanfran Guevara who fell with Danny Kent.