8th - Dani Pedrosa Average score out of ten: 6.2 Team: Repsol Honda Bike: RC213V (Factory) Wins: 1 Podiums: 10 Poles: 1 Fastest Laps: 2 Championship points: 246 Championship position: 4th out of 27

Winner of the vote in 2012 and third last year, Dani Pedrosa drops all the way to eighth in your 2014 MotoGP Star of the Year poll.

Over-awed by the immediate success of rookie team-mate Marc Marquez in 2013, the gulf between the two Spaniards would only widen this year.

Related Articles

Though Pedrosa had the 'honour' of being the first person other than Marquez to take a pole (Catalunya) and race win (Brno), he was not able to repeat either achievement during the remainder of the season.

Indeed, Brno aside, Pedrosa only finished ahead of Marquez on one further occasion - when both fell and remounted in the Aragon rain.

Pedrosa's hopes were hampered by arm-pump surgery early in the year, while double DNFs late in the season left Pedrosa a fairly anonymous fourth overall. Pedrosa was 116 points behind Marquez.

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Riders' World Championship standings, the MotoGP Star of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 50,000 votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net MotoGP Star of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's full-time participants - only Colin Edwards, who retired during the season, was not included - with a mark out of ten.

2014 MotoGP Star of the Year: Results so far 8th Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda 6.2 9th Scott Redding GBR Go&Fun Honda Gresini 6.1 10th Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 5.7 Full ranking featuring all 22 full-season riders to be revealed alongside the winner.

Dani Pedrosa in the Crash.net MotoGP Star of the Year poll MotoGP Star of the Year 2013: 3rd MotoGP Star of the Year 2012: 1st MotoGP Star of the Year 2011: 5th MotoGP Star of the Year 2010: 2nd MotoGP Star of the Year 2009: 5th MotoGP Star of the Year 2008: 6th