7th - Pol Espargaro Average score out of ten: 6.3 Team: Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Bike: YZR-M1 (Satellite) Wins: 0 Podiums: 0 Poles: 0 Fastest Laps: 0 Championship points: 136 Championship position: 6th out of 27

The latest Moto2 champion to graduate to MotoGP, Pol Espargaro came into the series on the competitive Tech 3 Yamaha with a reputation to uphold and the personal goals of beating both his more experienced team-mate Bradley Smith and his brother Aleix.

To that end it was a successful year, Espargaro appearing every-inch the seasoned MotoGP performer on his way to top Rookie honours as well as being the leading non-Factory team rider.

Related Articles

Though it wasn't enough to see him score that elusive podium, a front row in France and a brave run to sixth a day after a monster shunt in Sepang were eye-catching performances.

"Pol has not been as quick in his rookie year as shall we say Marc Marquez, but I think Marc is a phenomenon," said Yamaha Racing managing director Lin Jarvis. "Pol has had a good season, sixth in the championship and the best satellite rider. We have seen in the past in Pol's career that it took him time to learn and make the transition. So he is quick, but he needs to improve his consistency and race performance."

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Riders' World Championship standings, the MotoGP Star of the Year poll asks viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 50,000 votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net MotoGP Star of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's full-time participants - only Colin Edwards, who retired during the season, was not included - with a mark out of ten.

2014 MotoGP Star of the Year: Results so far 7th Pol Espargaro SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 6.3 8th Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda 6.2 9th Scott Redding GBR Go&Fun Honda Gresini 6.1 10th Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 5.7 Full ranking featuring all 22 full-season riders to be revealed alongside the winner.

Pol Espargaro in the Crash.net MotoGP Star of the Year poll MotoGP Star of the Year 2013: N/A MotoGP Star of the Year 2012: N/A MotoGP Star of the Year 2011: N/A MotoGP Star of the Year 2010: N/A MotoGP Star of the Year 2009: N/A MotoGP Star of the Year 2008: N/A