MotoGP »

The MotoGP penalty points list

The riders carrying penalty points into the 2015 MotoGP season...
MotoGP penalty points are no longer erased at the end of each season, but instead remain in place for one calendar year.

With that in mind, these are the MotoGP riders that will start the 2015 season with at least one penalty point against their name.

Race Direction can impose between 1 and 10 points for each infringement. Points accumulate with automatic sanctions kicking in once a rider reaches 4 points (start next race from last place), 7 points (start next race from pit lane) and 10 points (disqualification from next race).

Penalty points are in no way linked to riders' championship points.

Additional punishments available to Race Direction include fines, ride through, grid or time penalties, suspension, disqualification or exclusion...

2015 MotoGP riders with penalty points
Andrea Iannone: 2 points
1 point - “Irresponsible riding” / 17-05-2014 (Le Mans Q2)
1 point - “Irresponsible riding” / 19-10-2014 (Phillip Island Race)
Jack Miller: 2 points
2 points - “Irresponsible riding” / 01-06-2014 (Mugello Moto3 Race)
Mike di Meglio: 1 point
1 point - “Riding slowly on racing line” / 02-05-2014 (Jerez FP3)
Hiroshi Aoyama*: 1 point
1 point - “Action prejudicial to the interests of the sport” / 11-10-2014 (Motegi FP3)
Aleix Espargaro: 1 point
1 point - “Irresponsible riding” / 12-10-2014 (Motegi Race)
Bradley Smith: 1 point
1 point - “Passing another rider whilst yellow flags were being displayed” / 19-10-2014 (Phillip Island Race)
Stefan Bradl: 1 point
1 point - “Irresponsible riding” / 19-10-2014 (Phillip Island Race)
*Aoyama will be a Honda test rider in 2015, but may also participate in some wild-card rides.

The following is a complete list of riders from all three classes that received penalty points last season (no rider received more than 2 points).

2 points
Andrea Iannone
Xavier Simeon
Jack Miller
Andrea Locatelli
Hafiq Azmi
Karel Hanika
Efren Vazquez
John McPhee

1 point
Mike di Meglio
Hiroshi Aoyama
Aleix Espargaro
Bradley Smith
Stefan Bradl
Sandro Cortese
Johann Zarco
Franco Morbidelli
Roman Ramos
Gino Rea
Romano Fenati
Niklas Ajo
Jules Danilo
Enea Bastianini
Bryan Schouten
Scott Deroue
Matteo Ferrari
Remy Gardner
Isaac Viñales
Jorge Navarro
Alessandro Tonucci
Niccolo Antonelli
Jasper Iwema
Gabriel Rodrigo

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Marquez followed by Pol Espargaro, Bautista, Iannone, Italian MotoGP 2014
Hayden, Australian MotoGP. 22nd October 2016
Bradl, Australian MotoGP. 22nd October 2016
Luthi, Australian Moto2 2016
Luthi, Pasini, Australian Moto2 2016
Pasini, Australian Moto2 2016
Sam Lowes, Australian Moto2 2016
Sam Lowes, Australian Moto2 2016
Sam Lowes, Australian Moto2 2016
Luthi, Australian Moto2 2016
Sam Lowes, Australian Moto2 2016
Zarco, Australian Moto2 2016
Alex Marquez, Australian Moto2 2016
Cortese, Australian Moto2 2016
Raffin, Australian Moto2 2016
Morbidelli, Australian MotoGP 2016
Zarco, Australian Moto2 2016
Zarco, Australian Moto2 2016

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.