Marc Marquez will go up against the best sport stars in the world after being nominated for the Laureus Sports Award.

The two-time MotoGP world champion utterly dominated last year with 13 wins out of a possible 18, taking the first 10 race victories consecutively. Marquez beat Mick Doohan's previous record of 12 wins in one season in 1997.

The 21-year-old was awarded last year's Laureus Breakthrough Award after becoming the youngest ever MotoGP champion in 2013.

Related Articles

The Spaniard followed up a phenomenal 2013 with an even more impressive 2014, claiming a second consecutive MotoGP world title with Repsol Honda. Marquez is one of only four riders to have won world titles in three different classes and the youngest-ever double world champion.

Marquez has been nominated alongside Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton, tennis world number one Novak Djokovic, world record-holder in pole vault Renaud Lavillenie, golf superstar Rory McIlroy and football world player of the year Cristiano Ronaldo.

If Marquez were to win the award, he would become just the second Spaniard to achieve the feat after Rafael Nadal was named Laureus Sportsman of the year in 2011.

The winners of the Laureus Sports Awards will be announced in Shanghai on April 15th.