Marc VDS has confirmed that Scott Redding will receive a chassis upgrade for his RC213V at this weekend's Spanish MotoGP.

Providing an improvement in braking and corner entry, the new parts were first used by the factory Repsol team in winter testing, then made available to LCR Honda's Cal Crutchlow from Austin.

"The chassis has a different seat mounting position. In Sepang II we found something better in this area so therefore we started to make this chassis for Cal and Scott [Redding]," HRC vice president Shuhei Nakamoto said in Texas.

"Cal is the same [size] as the Factory [riders], but Scott is bigger so he needs another modification. His chassis is a little bit bigger. We need more time. So Cal received here and Scott will receive at Jerez."

Related Articles

That has now been confirmed by the Marc VDS squad, with Redding eager to try the new developments.

"We will receive updated chassis parts in Jerez, so this should help us make the next step, but we also return to Europe with more experience of the bike and a clear direction in which to go in with regards to set up," Redding said.

The #45, who has tried stiffening the front-end of his Honda in search of better cornering performance, added:

"The priority is to improve my feeling from the front, to give me more confidence. We've made a lot of progress in this area since the start of the season and we just need to continue in the same way. The goal for Jerez is simply to carry on improving and to try and close the gap to the guys at the front."

Redding took a season-best ninth last time out in Argentina.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment

john.robertson.5203: Apart from Marc....who else has jumped on one of these bikes and run consistently in the top 6 or 7.The answer is no one..Redding will get there.[\blockquote]
Probably easier to name who hasn't. But.....
First timers on RC, who consistently finished 6th or higher.
Barros & Kato in 2002 after switching from NSR500 late in the season, Rossi & Ukawa also in 2002. Biaggi & Gibernau in 2003. Melandri in 2005. Pedrosa in 2006.
Pedrosa in 2007. Dovi in 2008. Stoner in 2011.
Pedrosa & Stoner in 2012.
Crutchlow in 2015 (two 7ths & 3rd).