Movistar Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo made it a clean sweep of Friday's MotoGP free practice sessions as he headed FP2 from the injured Marc Marquez at Jerez.

Lorenzo, who will remain at Yamaha in 2016, failed to better his lap time from the morning session in the soaring temperatures, but his lap of 1m 39.300s gave him the top spot by 0.128s from Repsol Honda's Marquez at the Spanish track.

The reigning champion was a big improver on the RC213V after finishing eighth quickest in FP1 and led the session until around eight minutes to go, when Lorenzo took over after setting a hot lap on the medium rear tyre.

Related Articles

Marquez, who is nursing a finger injury sustained following a dirk bike crash, edged out Ducati's Andrea Iannone - the early frontrunner in FP2 - in third, who lapped in 1m 39.51s, with Andrea Dovizioso fourth fastest, only 0.024s behind his team-mate on the GP15 after fitting a soft tyre towards the end of the session.

Suzuki's Aleix Espargaro and Danilo Petrucci on the Pramac Ducati were the top six.

Britain's Cal Crutchlow slipped down the order to seventh place on the CWM LCR Honda after running third fastest in FP1, with his best lap in the afternoon of 1m 39.909s leaving him 0.609s off the pace of Lorenzo.

He was followed by Pol Espargaro on the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 machine, with rookie Maverick Vinales (Suzuki) and Scott Redding on the Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Honda in tenth, 0.845s behind the leader.

Championship pacesetter Valentino Rossi was only 13th fastest on the Movistar Yamaha, losing seven places after completing FP1 in sixth.

Rossi was behind Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) in 11th and Yonny Hernandez (Pramac Racing).

Mike de Meglio on the Avintia Ducati and Northern Ireland's Eugene Laverty on the new-look Power Electronics Aspar Honda completed the top 15, with Laverty's time of 1m 40.514s on the Open class machine leaving him 1.2 seconds adrift of the top spot.

Aprilia's Marco Melandri was a faller at turn 1, ending the session in 24th place, while Aussie and MotoGP newcomer Jack Miller finished in 22nd on the CWM LCR Honda after an excursion into the gravel trap at the first corner.

1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Marc Marquez
3. Andrea Iannone
4. Andrea Dovizioso
5. Aleix Espargaro
6. Danilo Petrucci
7. Cal Crutchlow
8. Pol Espargaro
9. Maverick Vi?ales
10. Scott Redding
11. Bradley Smith
12. Yonny Hernandez
13. Valentino Rossi
14. Mike Di Meglio
15. Eugene Laverty
16. Hector Barbera
17. Hiroshi Aoyama
18. Alvaro Bautista
19. Nicky Hayden
20. Stefan Bradl
21. Karel Abraham
22. Jack Miller
23. Loris Baz
24. Marco Melandri
25. Alex De Angelis