A late flying lap from Jorge Lorenzo kept the Spaniard on top of the MotoGP timesheets during Free Practice 3 at Jerez.

The Movistar Yamaha rider moved from eighth to first in the final minutes of the morning, in a session that ended with the top four riders - Lorenzo, Pol Espargaro (Tech 3 Yamaha), Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) and Aleix Espargaro (Suzuki) - covered by just 0.160s.

But that was deceptive in terms of race pace.

Related Articles

Much of the session had been spent putting in longer runs on their softer tyres, to help determine if they can be used for the race. Riders then switched to new rubber to try and secure a top ten place for direct access to Qualifying 2.

Prior to his late push into the '38s Lorenzo had already delivered 12 laps in the 1m 39s, meaning a total of 15 sub-1m 40s laps this morning. While sixth fastest in the session (albeit just 0.274s from Lorenzo) team-mate Valentino Rossi was next best for consistency and average speed, clocking 12 laps under 1m 40s.

Injured world champion Marc Marquez - seventh in FP3 - recorded nine 1m 40s laps. Marquez and Rossi split the session into three runs of equal distance, rather than the long opening run then short bursts by Lorenzo.

Crutchlow (7 laps) and Aleix Espargaro (8 laps) were also regulars under 1m 40s, although stuck to short runs this morning. Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso was able to put half of his laps under 1m 40s before securing a close fifth (+0.235s).

Behind Marquez, Andrea Iannone (Ducati), Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Yamaha) and Scott Redding (Marc VDS Honda) secured the final top ten places.

Among those heading for Qualifying 1 this afternoon will be Suzuki rookie Maverick Vinales and Pramac Ducati riders Danilo Petrucci and Yonny Hernandez - all within 0.8s of Lorenzo!

Fellow Desmosedici rider Hector Barbera was the top Open rider for Avintia, in 14th.

A short FP4 session will be held prior to the start of qualifying, when riders may well try the harder tyres again - during hotter conditions, at the same time as Sunday's race.

1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Pol Espargaro
3. Cal Crutchlow
4. Aleix Espargaro
5. Andrea Dovizioso
6. Valentino Rossi
7. Marc Marquez
8. Andrea Iannone
9. Bradley Smith
10. Scott Redding
11. Maverick Vi?ales
12. Danilo Petrucci
13. Yonny Hernandez
14. Hector Barbera
15. Alvaro Bautista
16. Karel Abraham
17. Mike Di Meglio
18. Stefan Bradl
19. Eugene Laverty
20. Hiroshi Aoyama
21. Loris Baz
22. Jack Miller
23. Nicky Hayden
24. Alex De Angelis
25. Marco Melandri