Espargaro brothers Pol and Aleix filled the top two places during warm-up for their home Spanish MotoGP at Jerez.

Monster Yamaha Tech 3 rider Pol moved to the top while following Valentino Rossi for several laps during the middle stages of the 20-minute session, with Suzuki's Aleix popping into second in the closing stages.

But in terms of consistency it was again Jorge Lorenzo, Valentino Rossi and Marc Marquez who stood out as favourites for the race.

Related Articles

Pole sitter Lorenzo (fourth in warm-up) set a consistent low 1m 39s pace, with Marquez (third in warm-up) and Rossi (fifth in warm-up) just a few tenths behind on average pace. Marquez will start second and Rossi fifth.

While fourth on the grid Pol Espargaro was somewhat inconsistent - his times swinging from 1m 38s to 1m 40s - sixth place starter Aleix was always below 1m 40s this morning, including his two 1m 38s laps.

Aleix may also opt to race with the Open class soft rear. The race favourites seem to have decided on the medium rear, but the main decision for the likes of Lorenzo, Rossi and Marquez will be over the hard or medium front tyre.

Lorenzo ran the hard front this morning but both Rossi and Marquez were seen on the medium. However the hotter temperatures for this afternoon's race are sure to play a part in their decision.

Front row starter Andrea Iannone was just eighth, but still the top Ducati, this morning.

Rossi will be chasing a record 200th grand prix podium to help protect his title lead, while injured reigning champion Marquez plans to use painkillers for the first time this weekend as he seeks to reduce a 30-point gap to Rossi.

1. Pol Espargaro
2. Aleix Espargaro
3. Marc Marquez
4. Jorge Lorenzo
5. Valentino Rossi
6. Cal Crutchlow
7. Bradley Smith
8. Andrea Iannone
9. Hiroshi Aoyama
10. Scott Redding
11. Andrea Dovizioso
12. Maverick Vi?ales
13. Yonny Hernandez
14. Alvaro Bautista
15. Eugene Laverty
16. Nicky Hayden
17. Loris Baz
18. Stefan Bradl
19. Karel Abraham
20. Danilo Petrucci
21. Hector Barbera
22. Marco Melandri
23. Jack Miller
24. Alex De Angelis
25. Mike Di Meglio