Just four races into the 2015 motorcycle grand prix season and the achievements of Danny Kent and Sam Lowes mean British riders have already claimed their most wins in a season since 1977.

Kent has won three races to lead the Moto3 championship standings heading into this weekend's Le Mans round, with Lowes claiming his first Moto2 victory in Austin.

Official statistics show that the last time British riders scored more than four wins in a season was back in 1977, when Barry Sheene won six 500cc races and Mick Grant two 250cc events.

Related Articles

Kent is also the first British rider to win three successive grand prix races since Sheene in '77.