Marc Marquez opened up on top at his home MotoGP round in Catalunya, leading Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa in Friday morning's FP1 session.

The reigning world champion vowed to continue his '100 percent' approach to racing on Thursday despite falling out of the Italian Grand Prix, which saw him slip 49 points behind championship leader Valentino Rossi.

Experimenting with a new exhaust and electronic enhancements, Marquez lapped under the official circuit record to head Pedrosa by two clear tenths of a second.

Related Articles

Marquez's final time of 1m 41.8s meant he was the only man to dip under the 1m 42s marker and came even after running well off line at turn ten.

The 'Factory' Honda riders were using the session to test the harder compound rear tyre, freeing up softer rubber for this afternoon, although Marquez's best time came on the medium compound.

Behind the Hondas there were notable performances from both Suzukis. Aleix Espargaro, the long time leader of the session, placed third with Maverick Vi?ales backing up his team-mate in fifth.

The Catalan duo are using a new upgraded engine this weekend but were still over ten kph down on Andrea Iannone's fastest speed. Initial signs were promising as Espargaro quickly got down to within 0.2s of the circuit record just four laps into his weekend.

Splitting the Suzukis, Jorge Lorenzo, leader of each of the previous 78 laps in the class, placed fourth, 0.65s slower than Marquez's time.

After Ducati came fast out of the box in Mugello, their initial progress in Barcelona was underwhelming by comparison. 'Factory' runners Andrea Dovizioso finished FP1 in ninth while Andrea Iannone was outside the top ten in eleventh.

Both were comfortably outpaced by Yonny Hernandez, whose lap aboard a soft tyre enabled him to climb to sixth.

Free Practice 1:
1. Marc Marquez
2. Dani Pedrosa
3. Aleix Espargaro
4. Jorge Lorenzo
5. Maverick Vi?ales
6. Yonny Hernandez
7. Nicky Hayden
8. Valentino Rossi
9. Andrea Dovizioso
10. Cal Crutchlow
11. Andrea Iannone
12. Scott Redding
13. Karel Abraham
14. Pol Espargaro
15. Bradley Smith
16. Stefan Bradl
17. Hector Barbera
18. Eugene Laverty
19. Jack Miller
20. Loris Baz
21. Danilo Petrucci
22. Alvaro Bautista
23. Mike Di Meglio
24. Alex De Angelis
25. Marco Melandri