For the first time in 2015 title leader Valentino Rossi began a MotoGP weekend on top, the Italian posting the fastest lap on Friday morning at Assen to lead the Repsol Hondas of Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa.

In an eventful opening 45 minutes, Marquez's current travails were underlined by a high-speed fall on his out lap. As the reining world champion pitched into the Ramshoek his rear wheel appeared to lock, forcing him to stand up and run on into the gravel.

Although he gradually built himself up and recovered to place second, Marquez's rear stability issues looked far from cured early on into the weekend.

While team-mate Pedrosa spent much of the session on top, a late succession of laps on Yamaha's new chassis saw Rossi climb to the top of the standings on Friday morning for the first time since Indianapolis, 2014.

Related Articles

Rossi ensured the top spot on his second of two runs on Yamaha's new chassis by putting in three quick times, all of which were faster than Marquez's best time. In the end, 0.195s separated the top two men.

As rain continually threatens proceedings throughout the Dutch weekend, most riders sought to post a quick time early on as conditions remained dry and track temperatures hovered around 17 degrees.

To back up Rossi's early pace, Yamahas occupied fourth to sixth positions as Jorge Lorenzo - winner of the past four races and just one point from Rossi - used the session to get to grips with Yamaha's new M1 chassis. While Rossi exited pit lane with the new frame early on, Lorenzo opted to spend the majority of time on the old hardware before switching up for the final six minutes.

Behind, Pol Espargaro led Bradley Smith in what was a positive opening session for the Tech 3 Yamaha team-mates.

Continuing his fine form from Barcelona, Maverick Vi?ales led Aleix Espargaro in seventh while Andrea Dovizioso, missing from the top ten for the majority of the 45 minutes, finally made his way into the top ten late on.

Elsewhere Jack Miller produced a notable performance by placing eleventh, one position ahead of team-mate Cal Crutchlow.


1. Valentino Rossi
2. Marc Marquez
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Jorge Lorenzo
5. Pol Espargaro
6. Bradley Smith
7. Maverick Vi?ales
8. Aleix Espargaro
9. Andrea Dovizioso
10. Danilo Petrucci
11. Jack Miller
12. Cal Crutchlow
13. Andrea Iannone
14. Stefan Bradl
15. Yonny Hernandez
16. Nicky Hayden
17. Scott Redding
18. Eugene Laverty
19. Hector Barbera
20. Alvaro Bautista
21. Loris Baz
22. Mike Di Meglio
23. Alex De Angelis
24. Marco Melandri