Repsol Honda's Dani Pedrosa took over at the top in the afternoon session at Assen as FP1 pacesetter Valentino Rossi dropped to third.

Pedrosa headed his team-mate and MotoGP World Champion Marc Marquez by 0.139s after setting a lap in 1m 33.450s.

Marquez, who suffered a minor fall on his out lap in FP1, lapped in 1m 33.589s on the RC213V after jumping to the summit of FP2 after the first 10 minutes.

Related Articles

The Honda rider, who is testing HRC's 2014 chassis with this year's swingarm in an effort to make the RC213V less of a handful on the brakes, had a lucky escape when he ran off the track after almost clipping the rear of Scott Redding as he braked hard for turn 1.

Championship leader Rossi on the Movistar Yamaha ended the session 0.202s down on Pedrosa, setting his fastest time in 1m 33.652s.

Ducati's Andrea Iannone, who briefly led in the early stages on the GP15, slotted into fourth with a time of 1m 33.699s while Cal Crutchlow on the CWM LCR Honda and Jorge Lorenzo - chasing a fifth straight premier class win on Saturday - rounded out the top six.

Lorenzo's lap of 1m 33.741s left him 0.291s down on Pedrosa as he nudged ahead of the Ducati of Andrea Dovizioso in seventh.

Suzuki's Aleix Espargaro was next up on the GSX-RR (1m 33.857s) followed by Danilo Petrucci on the Pramac Ducati GP14 and series rookie Maverick Vinales on the second Suzuki, completing the first 10.

Monster Yamaha Tech 3 riders Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith were split by Yonny Hernandez (Pramac Ducati) as the satellite Yamaha pair ended the session in 11th and 13th respectively, with British rider Redding on the EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda in 14th (1m 34.643s) and 1.193s behind the factory Honda of Pedrosa.

Stefan Bradl completed the top 15 on the Forward Yamaha with Ireland's Eugene Laverty finishing ahead of team-mate Nicky Hayden on the Aspar Honda in 17th with a lap in 1m 35.047s.

1. Dani Pedrosa
2. Marc Marquez
3. Valentino Rossi
4. Andrea Iannone
5. Cal Crutchlow
6. Jorge Lorenzo
7. Andrea Dovizioso
8. Aleix Espargaro
9. Danilo Petrucci
10. Maverick Vi?ales
11. Pol Espargaro
12. Yonny Hernandez
13. Bradley Smith
14. Scott Redding
15. Stefan Bradl
16. Loris Baz
17. Eugene Laverty
18. Nicky Hayden
19. Alvaro Bautista
20. Hector Barbera
21. Jack Miller
22. Mike Di Meglio
23. Alex De Angelis
24. Marco Melandri


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment

ProfessorX: Maybe Dani's tires will go strong the whole race and his bike will behave more consistently, like it did when he was winning almost every race (before Repsol's prodigy stole the show) in 2012. [\blockquote]

Yeah, that's why he has so many MotoGP titles. Oh wait.....