Marc Marquez used Saturday's morning warm-up session to show he is ready to reignite his MotoGP title defines in Holland after he comfortably outpaced Valentino Rossi and Cal Crutchlow.

Buoyed by the more forgiving nature of the 2014 chassis, which he has opted to use this weekend with the '15 swingarm, Marquez lapped within three tenths of a second of his FP4 time as dark clouds loomed over Assen.

Marquez was the only rider capable of dipping into the 1m 33s around the 2.8 mile track, doing so on five occasions while Rossi and, notable, Jorge Lorenzo, couldn't do it once.

Related Articles

Indeed Lorenzo's body language did not suggest he was pleased with finishing over half a second off Marquez's fastest time as he dismounted his M1 in pit lane. Very much MotoGP's form man, the Majorcan ended the session fourth.

Riders used the first lap of the session to scrub in wet tyres ahead of the race before coming into pit lane for a practice bike swap. Grey clouds loomed throughout the morning, suggesting the rain forecast for the afternoon could yet arrive.

Behind the top four, Aleix Espargaro - yet to decided whether he will race the softer option Bridgestone rear tyre - finished fifth after a fairly consistent ten lap run.

Brother Pol was sixth, heading team-mate Bradley Smith and the out-of-sorts Ducatis of Andrea Dovizioso and Iannone.

Dani Pedrosa, tenth overall, fell at high speed as he approached turn nine. The Repsol Honda rider lost the front end before he pitched into the 90-degree right and could only watch on as his RC213V careered into the tyre wall.

The diminutive Spaniard was taken to the medical centre after complaining of pain in his left hand. It was later confirmed he suffered a contusion to the left thumb and middle finger and avoided any fractures.

Alvaro Bautista's morning was affected by the local wildlife. The Aprilia man came into pit lane moments after hitting a rabbit on the approach to the Geert Timmer chicane.

1. Marc Marquez
2. Valentino Rossi
3. Cal Crutchlow
4. Jorge Lorenzo
5. Aleix Espargaro
6. Pol Espargaro
7. Bradley Smith
8. Andrea Dovizioso
9. Andrea Iannone
10. Dani Pedrosa
11. Yonny Hernandez
12. Maverick Vi?ales
13. Danilo Petrucci
14. Stefan Bradl
15. Scott Redding
16. Nicky Hayden
17. Hector Barbera
18. Loris Baz
19. Eugene Laverty
20. Mike Di Meglio
21. Jack Miller
22. Alex De Angelis
23. Alvaro Bautista
24. Marco Melandri