Full MotoGP Qualifying results from Silverstone

Marc Marquez has smashed his previous lap record on the way to an astonishing pole position at Silverstone with championship leader Jorge Lorenzo in second, while Dani Pedrosa found vital gains to complete the front row.

The defending MotoGP champion was on the pace instantly by breaking his 2013 pole position record with his first flyer, while Pedrosa grabbed a provisional second ahead of Lorenzo after the opening runs.

Related Articles

The two-time MotoGP champion grabbed a fresh tyre and then went even quicker to narrowly miss out on breaking the two minute barrier with a 2m 0.234s.

In traditional Marquez fashion the Spaniard had his Honda machine rampaging from underneath him but was able to control a wild slide through Woodcote corner to set a new lap record.

Lorenzo split the factory Hondas with an improvement on his final flyer to take P2 from Pedrosa, while Valentino Rossi recovered from a difficult first hot lap to head the second row.

Joining the Italian on row two are the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 team-mates, with Pol Espargaro taking fifth to get the better of Bradley Smith in sixth.

Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS rider Scott Redding converted his promising free practice form into seventh to nip in front of fellow Brit Cal Crutchlow.

Ducati had a qualifying to forget with Andrea Iannone taking an underwhelming ninth and Andrea Dovizioso 12th, with the Italians split by the pair promoted from Q1 with Aleix Espargaro in tenth and Yonny Hernandez 11th.

Q1 was set up as an intriguing battle with both Octo Pramac Ducati and Suzuki Ecstar riders battling for the two Q2 spots.

Suzuki pair Espargaro and Maverick Vinales looked comfortable with low 2m 2s laps but Hernandez upset the party by going two-tenths faster to bump Vinales into 13th for tomorrow's grid.

Loris Baz claimed the top open rider qualifying tag for Forward Racing with 15th after Eugene Laverty struggled to convert his free practice pace during Q1 and will start tomorrow's race from 19th.

1 Marc Marquez
2 Jorge Lorenzo
3 Dani Pedrosa
4 Valentino Rossi
5 Pol Espargaro
6 Bradley Smith
7 Scott Redding
8 Cal Crutchlow
9 Andrea Iannone
10 Aleix Espargaro
11 Yonny Hernandez
12 Andrea Dovizioso