Jorge Lorenzo dipped under the lap record at Misano to seal the top spot during free practice on Friday in San Marino.

The Movistar Yamaha rider lapped in 1m32.871s on the M1 - sporting new winglets - to topple Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez by only 0.053 seconds in FP2.

It was the perfect start to the weekend for Lorenzo, who is attempting to recover ground in the MotoGP World Championship to team-mate Valentino Rossi after finishing fourth last time out in the wet at Silverstone.

Related Articles

Title pacesetter Rossi slotted into fifth, almost six-tenths behind Lorenzo, with Dani Pedrosa third fastest behind Marquez and Andrea Dovizioso finishing strongly on the Ducati GP15 in fourth using a soft rear - 0.420s down on the top Yamaha.

Behind Rossi, Pol Espargaro completed the top six on the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 machine ahead of Danilo Petrucci, who is making his debut on the Ducati GP14.2 following the Italian's excellent rostrum finish at Silverstone for Pramac Racing.

Bradley Smith was the leading British rider in seventh behind his Tech 3 team-mate after a lap in 1m 33.595s.

Michele Pirro, making his second wildcard appearance this season, was a solid ninth as Ducati's official test rider finished 0.803s off the benchmark time set by Lorenzo, who smashed the lap record using a fresh medium rear.

LCR Honda's Cal Crutchlow will be aiming to improve on his 10th place result on Saturday as the British star narrowly headed fellow countryman Scott Redding on the Marc VDS RC213V.

Crutchlow appeared to slide off Turn 10 on the hard rear tyre in the early part of the session and was forced to return to pit lane.

Suzuki's Aleix Espargaro out the GSX-RR ahead of Andrea Iannone, who ended FP2 in an unfamiliar 13th place after also coming off at Turn 10.

Ireland's Eugene Laverty is gunning for the top Open class honours this weekend at Misano and got off on the right foot as the Power Electronics Aspar Honda rider finished as the leading Open class competitor in 15th behind Suzuki's Maverick Vinales.

1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Marc Marquez
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Andrea Dovizioso
5. Valentino Rossi
6. Pol Espargaro
7. Danilo Petrucci
8. Bradley Smith
9. Michele Pirro
10. Cal Crutchlow
11. Scott Redding
12. Aleix Espargaro
13. Andrea Iannone
14. Maverick Vi?ales
15. Eugene Laverty
16. Loris Baz
17. Yonny Hernandez
18. Alvaro Bautista
19. Jack Miller
20. Hector Barbera
21. Stefan Bradl
22. Nicky Hayden
23. Alex De Angelis
24. Mike Di Meglio
25. Claudio Corti
26. Karel Abraham