Having sat outside the top three on Friday afternoon, Marc Marquez posted the fastest MotoGP time on Saturday morning as both he and team-mate Dani Pedrosa sat on the provisional front row.

Jorge Lorenzo took to the track with the winglets that had made an appearance in Misano in the session. The Spaniard ended the morning fourth fastest but sat second overall, between the Repsol Hondas on combined times.

Just six of the top ten riders improved on their times set in FP2 as there was relief for Cal Crutchlow and both Suzuki riders, who made the top ten.

Related Articles

Andrea Dovizioso's difficult weekend continued as ended the session eleventh and Scott Redding twelfth, meaning both will participate in the after Q2 session.

The session was notable for a spate of crashes at the tricky, uphill turn two. Loris Baz was the first casualty as he fell two minutes into the session while Maverick Vi?ales and Jack Miller were also seen dusting themselves down in the gravel trap next to the exit of pit lane.

Andrea Iannone was an impressive fifth after a late lap on soft tyres, which pushed Crutchlow back a place to sixth. The Englishman's best lap was over 0.8s faster than his Friday time.

Bradley Smith was another faller in the morning, the Englishman's spill coming at turn five. Like team-mate Pol Espargaro, he didn't improve his time in the morning meaning the Tech 3 Yamahas slipped to seventh and eighth.

Vi?ales recovered from his early spill to set the ninth fastest time on a soft tyre, a place ahead of Aleix Espargaro.

Scott Redding was as high as fifth at the close of FP1 but couldn't maintain that speed as he finished the morning session in twelfth.

1. Marc Marquez
2. Dani Pedrosa
3. Valentino Rossi
4. Jorge Lorenzo
5. Andrea Iannone
6. Cal Crutchlow
7. Pol Espargaro
8. Maverick Vi?ales
9. Aleix Espargaro
10. Scott Redding
11. Bradley Smith
12. Andrea Dovizioso
13. Yonny Hernandez
14. Nicky Hayden
15. Danilo Petrucci
16. Mike Di Meglio
17. Alvaro Bautista
18. Jack Miller
19. Hector Barbera
20. Eugene Laverty
21. Alex De Angelis
22. Karel Abraham
23. Stefan Bradl
24. Toni Elias
Loris Baz