Enea Bastianini turned up in confident mood following his first win from pole in Misano and his final assault on the track was good enough to snatch pole again at the chequered flag, with a absolute track record of 1m 57.755s at Motorland Aragon.

Travelling around the Spanish track half a second faster than previous record holder Alex Rins, the Gresini rider shot up the timesheets from sixth as he used Tatsuki Suzuki as a marker to chase down.

The Italian also puts Honda in a great position for their first shot at winning the constructors title, needing 11 points more than KTM to secure victory on Sunday.

Related Articles

Bastianini displaced Red Bull KTM rider Miguel Oliveira who was the most consistent over the course of the session, regularly topping the timesheets, showing his speed on his own as well as when gaining a tow.

The front row is completed by championship leader Danny Kent. The Leopard rider had spent too much of his track time looking for the all-important tow deemed necessary by the riders for pole around Aragon, and he found himself constantly surrounded by riders every time he left the pits and unable to gain an advantage.

When the Honda rider abandoned the tow plan and found some clear track for his final run he climbed from 11th to a much-improved third.

Fourth went to Jorge Martin after another fast last run, the best of the Mahindra riders on track.

The Mapfre rider is joined on row two by fellow countryman Jorge Navarro for Estrella Galicia 0,0, ably assisted in his search for a good time by his replacement team-mate Sena Yamada.

Niccolo Antonelli was constantly close to the top but could only muster the sixth best time for Ongetta-Rivacold in a close qualifying which saw the top 13 all within a second of the pole time.

Alexis Masbou powered up to seventh in the final moments to head up row three for the SaxoPrint-RTG team, with team-mate John McPhee also faring well in the traffic for 14th.

Eighth went to Efren Vazquez on the second Leopard entry after dropping back from fifth.

Philipp Oettl was one of the last riders to cross the line and his fine solo run pushed him into the top ten in ninth for Schedl GP Racing.

As the only rider in the field who has previously won at Aragon in the Moto3 class - charging through to win after dropping to 19th in last year's race - Romano Fenati will have high hopes of another strong performance for Sky Racing Team VR46 from tenth after proving pole may not be as crucial here as it once was.

Yamada replaces the injured Fabio Quartararo at Estrella Galicia 0,0 and starts 23rd.

Manuel Pagliani permanently replaces Matteo Ferrari at San Carlo Team Italia and qualified 32nd with Spanish CEV championship stars and wildcard entries Davide Pizzoli and Khairul Idham Pawi finishing 33rd and 34th respectively. Gresini's Andrea Locatelli is absent through injury.