Less than a week after suffering a blow in his championship quest, Jorge Lorenzo topped FP1 at a cold and blustery Phillip Island.

Drops of rain were falling around the seaside track as riders exited pit lane, meaning more than half an hour passed before the fastest times of the morning were set.

Even then, Lorenzo's best time of 1m 30.047s was 1.9secs off Marc Marquez's lap record, set in 2013. The Majorcan had only posted the fastest time when a brief shower started, bringing the session to a premature close.

Related Articles

Behind the Yamaha man, Marc Marquez was second fastest having led the 45 minutes before Lorenzo's late lap while Valentino Rossi was third, over half a second slower than his team-mate.

Ensuring a Movistar Yamaha and Repsol Honda hegemony at the top of the time sheets, Dani Pedrosa was fourth fastest.

Perhaps most notable of all, Jack Miller was deeply impressive in front of his home fans. Riding around the circuit at which he secured his most impressive grand prix victory to date, Miller was fifth fastest, a place ahead of Cal Crutchlow.

Just over a tenth off the LCR Honda man's fastest time, Bradley Smith ended the session in seventh with Andrea Iannone in eighth. Pol Espargaro was showing no ill-signs of his frightening 240kph spill in Motegi as he led Maverick Vi?ales at the lower end of the top ten.

Nicky Hayden was the fastest of the 'Open' machines, the American finishing an impressive 13th fastest.

1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Marc Marquez
3. Valentino Rossi
4. Dani Pedrosa
5. Jack Miller
6. Cal Crutchlow
7. Bradley Smith
8. Andrea Iannone
9. Pol Espargaro
10. Maverick Vi?ales
11. Aleix Espargaro
12. Andrea Dovizioso
13. Nicky Hayden
14. Danilo Petrucci
15. Mike Di Meglio
16. Hector Barbera
17. Scott Redding
18. Yonny Hernandez
19. Alvaro Bautista
20. Eugene Laverty
21. Loris Baz
22. Toni Elias
23. Stefan Bradl
24. Anthony West
25. Damian Cudlin