Nicky Hayden will be inducted into the World Championship Hall of Fame as the 22nd MotoGP Legend, in a ceremony at November's Valencia season finale.

Valencia will be Hayden's final MotoGP race before moving to World Superbike next season and is the scene of his greatest triumph; snatching the 2006 world title from Valentino Rossi.

The popular American will leave the category after 216 grand prix appearances, 28 podiums, 7 fastest laps, 5 pole positions and 3 race wins.

The existing MotoGP Legends include Giacomo Agostini, Mick Doohan, Geoff Duke, Wayne Gardner, Mike Hailwood, Daijiro Kato, Eddie Lawson, Anton Mang, Angel Nieto, Wayne Rainey, Phil Read, Jim Redman, Kenny Roberts, Jarno Saarinen, Kevin Schwantz, Barry Sheene, Marco Simoncelli, Freddie Spencer, Casey Stoner, John Surtees and Carlo Ubbiali.

Related Articles