Marc Marquez described the period between Sepang and Valencia as "one of the most difficult weeks of my life" on Thursday but the outgoing world champion showed no ill effects of the Malaysian drama by topping MotoGP FP1.

Marquez lapped under the official circuit record to lead title hopeful Jorge Lorenzo on Friday morning with Valentino Rossi fifth.

Marquez was fast from the start and shrugged off an incredible near crash at turn eighth, where he lost the front and saved the spill on his elbow, to lap 0.184s faster than Lorenzo.

Related Articles

A winner in the 125cc, 250cc and MotoGP categories at the Ricardo Tormo circuit, Dani Pedrosa showed Lorenzo's task on Sunday will be far from straightforward by completing the top three.

All eyes were on Rossi through the morning, a day after the Court of Arbitration for Sport discarded his appeal of Race Direction's decision from Sepang. The Italian - seven points ahead of Lorenzo in the championship - was a place behind the surprising Andrea Dovizioso in fourth.

Like Marquez and Lorenzo, Rossi posted three runs, the fastest of which came towards the session. His fastest time of 1m 31.665s was 0.4s slower than Marquez's late time.

Pol Espargaro was an impressive sixth, less than two weeks after cracking a bone in his neck in morning warm-up in Malaysia. Still hopeful of snatching fourth place in the championship, Andrea Iannone was seventh, a place ahead of Cal Crutchlow, who ended the session one second slower than Marquez.

Aleix Espargaro spent the early parts of the session inside the top four but eventually slipped down to ninth, with Yonny Hernandez tenth. Stefan Bradl carried his fine Malaysian form through to Spain by ending the 45 minutes eleventh.

There was a crash for Maverick Vi?ales early into the session as the Spaniard fell at turn eight. He took to the track again to finish 16th.

1. Marc Marquez
2. Jorge Lorenzo
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Andrea Dovizioso
5. Valentino Rossi
6. Pol Espargaro
7. Andrea Iannone
8. Cal Crutchlow
9. Aleix Espargaro
10. Yonny Hernandez
11. Stefan Bradl
12. Danilo Petrucci
13. Michele Pirro
14. Alvaro Bautista
15. Mike Di Meglio
16. Maverick Vi?ales
17. Bradley Smith
18. Hector Barbera
19. Nicky Hayden
20. Jack Miller
21. Eugene Laverty
22. Scott Redding
23. Loris Baz
24. Toni Elias
25. Anthony West
26. Broc Parkes