MotoGP »

Marquez romps to early advantage in FP1

Jorge Lorenzo is the only man who can get close to Marc Marquez in FP1, the Repsol Honda man making a mockery of his own acceleration concerns.
Marc Marquez made a mockery of concerns that the 2016 Honda RC213V's acceleration deficit would play into his rival's hands by setting the early pace at the third MotoGP round of the year in Austin, Texas.

Seeking to maintain his 100 percent record of winning every premier class race in the USA since the beginning of 2013, Marquez spent much of FP1 more than half a second clear of his closest pursuer. Only reigning world champion Jorge Lorenzo could get close, with Marquez's advantage standing at 0.255s at the end of the 45-minute session.

Less than a week after the Grand Prix of Argentina, riders were testing two new rear compounds that Michelin shipped in from France on Thursday evening. Although the rubber appeared to have some wear on the right side, Michelin tyre man Peiro Taramasso explained how riders had provided positive early feedback.

Times were fairly spaced out, with a second covering the top five riders. A quartet of Ducatis in the form of Andrea Iannone (+0.617s), Hector Barbera (+0.729s), Andrea Dovizioso (+1.079s) and Scott Redding (+1.271s) followed Lorenzo in second, suggesting the Desmosedici-boosted punch onto the back straight was of great benefit.

Meanwhile Valentino Rossi tried the 'new' Yamaha, not seen since winter testing, on his way to seventh place this morning (+1.299s).

There was a fast spill for Jack Miller, the Australian high-siding at some speed through turn 18. Fast in Argentina, Miller was taken to the medical centre, where it was revealed via scan that he has suffered no substantial damage to the leg he broke during the winter.

1. Marc Marquez
2. Jorge Lorenzo
3. Andrea Iannone
4. Hector Barbera
5. Andrea Dovizioso
6. Scott Redding
7. Valentino Rossi
8. Yonny Hernandez
9. Maverick Viñales
10. Dani Pedrosa
11. Aleix Espargaro
12. Pol Espargaro
13. Cal Crutchlow
14. Stefan Bradl
15. Tito Rabat
16. Bradley Smith
17. Eugene Laverty
18. Alvaro Bautista
19. Loris Baz
20. Michele Pirro
21. Jack Miller

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.