Five days on from his debut MotoGP triumph, Andrea Iannone showed his speed has not been dulled by a midweek trip to Ibiza as he and his Ducati Desmosedici GP posted the fastest time in FP1 at Brno.

Iannone shrugged off an early mechanical issue, which forced him to pull off track at turn three, to post a quick, late run, that included a 1m 56.189s lap time, 0.265s better than Valentino Rossi's best effort.

During his fastest lap, Iannone's Bologna machine was level pegging with Rossi through Brno's third split, only for the Ducati to stretch its legs up 'Horsepower Hill'. Although he was using a new rear tyre at the end of his run, the 27-year could be a real contender in the outcome of Sunday's race.

Related Articles

Prior to Iannone's late assault, the Movistar Yamahas of Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo were comfortably setting the pace. Reigning world champion Lorenzo was showing signs of the pace that took him to a dominant victory here in 2015, until Rossi went faster mid-session.

Judging by pit-lane gestures, Lorenzo still has some way to go to find the optimum feeling with Michelin's new rear tyre compounds, previously tested in a one-day shakedown at Barcelona in June.

With Lorenzo 0.4s back of Iannone, Hector Barbera was fourth after gaining a late tow from Andrea Dovizioso. The second factory Ducati rider's final lap was good enough for fifth, and pushed championship leader Marc Marquez down to sixth.

Although Marquez was 0.89s off the fastest pace, he remained on one set of tyres throughout the 45 minutes, showing Sunday's race is very much the focus of his attention. Like Austria, Maverick Vi?ales wasn't far away from his countryman, less than a tenth back in seventh.

Scott Redding was the second 'satellite' machine in eighth, albeit a distant 1.3s off Iannone's fastest time. Using Vi?ales' Suzuki as a reference, Dani Pedrosa was ninth with the still-injured Aleix Espargaro tenth.

1. Andrea Iannone
2. Valentino Rossi
3. Jorge Lorenzo
4. Hector Barbera
5. Andrea Dovizioso
6. Marc Marquez
7. Maverick Vi?ales
8. Scott Redding
9. Dani Pedrosa
10. Aleix Espargaro
11. Bradley Smith
12. Cal Crutchlow
13. Pol Espargaro
14. Danilo Petrucci
15. Stefan Bradl
16. Yonny Hernandez
17. Alvaro Bautista
18. Tito Rabat
19. Loris Baz
20. Eugene Laverty

CLICK HERE for full results.