MotoGP »

MotoGP Czech Republic: Lorenzo smashes lap record to top FP3

Jorge Lorenzo betters his own outright circuit record by nearly two tenths of a second to comfortably lead FP3; Andrea Iannone second, Marc Marquez third.
Jorge Lorenzo underlined his intentions of further slicing his championship deficit in the Czech Republic by breaking his own outright circuit record to lead MotoGP FP3 in Brno.

The reigning world champion's final time of 1m 54.791s was almost a full three-quarters of a second (+0.744s) quicker than the next best placed rider, and 0.18s faster than his pole time from one year ago.

Iannone's run to the second fastest time was far from plain sailing. The Italian fell when he hit the bumps on the entry to turn 13 early into the session. Unlike Marc Marquez a day ago, the one-time premier class race winner was unable to recover the front end moment.

With Lorenzo comfortably out front, Iannone led a tight quartet, with Marc Marquez just 0.027s back of his time in third. On Friday Maverick Viñales said he was focussing mostly on race pace in the lead up to qualifying, and again he showed well here. He was fourth, 0.042s back of Marquez.

Valentino Rossi didn't display the same outright speed as his Movistar Yamaha team-mate, but was nonetheless a solid fifth, and showing a fantastic race pace across the 45 minutes. It appears of all the front five, the Italian is best prepared for Sunday's race.

A second from Lorenzo, Aleix Espargaro was an impressive sixth, with Andrea Dovizioso the second of the Ducatis in seventh. Pol Espargaro posted a late flyer to make the automatic cut into Q2 with the eighth fastest time, just ahead of Cal Crutchlow in ninth.

Scott Redding did enough to get tenth with Dani Pedrosa the most notable attendee in Saturday afternoon's Q1.

1. Jorge Lorenzo
2. Andrea Iannone
3. Marc Marquez
4. Maverick Viñales
5. Valentino Rossi
6. Aleix Espargaro
7. Andrea Dovizioso
8. Pol Espargaro
9. Cal Crutchlow
10. Scott Redding
11. Dani Pedrosa
12. Danilo Petrucci
13. Bradley Smith
14. Alvaro Bautista
15. Stefan Bradl
16. Eugene Laverty
17. Yonny Hernandez
18. Hector Barbera
19. Tito Rabat
20. Loris Baz

CLICK HERE for full results.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Lorenzo, Czech MotoGP 2016
Marquez, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Crutchlow, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Crutchlow, Marquez Dutch MotoGP 2017
Crutchlow, Marquez Dutch MotoGP 2017
Crutchlow, Marquez Dutch MotoGP 2017
Crutchlow, Marquez Dutch MotoGP 2017
Dovizioso, Marquez Dutch MotoGP 2017
Dovizioso, Marquez Dutch MotoGP 2017
Dovizioso, Marquez Dutch MotoGP 2017
Crutchlow, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Rossi, Dovizioso, Petrucci, Marquez Dutch MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo entering pits to change tyres, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Dovizioso, Petrucci Dutch MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Iannone, Dutch MotoGP 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.