It's Friday. It's cold. So it comes as little surprise that Maverick Vi?ales rode Suzuki's GSX-RR machine to the fastest time in MotoGP FP1 at Silverstone, with Jorge Lorenzo the only other rider to get close.

Vi?ales' late time of 2m 0.482s was 0.28s faster than the reigning world champion, with third quickest man Marc Marquez over a second back of his fellow Catalan.

In recent rounds, Vi?ales has excelled in cooler temperatures, with the Suzuki encountering rear traction issues when the track heats up. At Assen, the Sachsenring and the Red Bull Ring, he showed great pace at the close of the first day.

With Lorenzo showing well, Marquez recovered from an early fall to place third. The championship leader fell on his out lap at turn twelve, with a cold tyre possibly to blame.

Although a winner at Silverstone a year ago, Valentino Rossi admitted on Thursday that this is one of his more difficult tracks. Thus it was somewhat surprising to see the Italian more or less match Marquez's pace to place fourth.

In spite of a painful knee injury sustained in a recent test at Misano, Andrea Dovizioso was pushed back to fifth, having led much of the session. Factory Ducati team-mate Andrea Iannone was seventh, after his Desmosedici began to smoke toward the end of the session.

With Pol Espargaro sixth, and Dani Pedrosa eighth, Scott Redding was the best-placed British rider, one position ahead of Danilo Petrucci.

Cal Crutchlow was eleventh fastest, two places ahead of Eugene Laverty in 13th. Class debutant Alex Lowes performed well to lap within four seconds of Vi?ales. At one point, the Tech 3 stand-in rider was just two seconds slower than the fastest time before a late fall at turn twelve halted his progress.

1. Maverick Vi?ales
2. Jorge Lorenzo
3. Marc Marquez
4. Valentino Rossi
5. Andrea Dovizioso
6. Pol Espargaro
7. Andrea Iannone
8. Dani Pedrosa
9. Scott Redding
10. Danilo Petrucci
11. Cal Crutchlow
12. Aleix Espargaro
13. Eugene Laverty
14. Yonny Hernandez
15. Stefan Bradl
16. Alvaro Bautista
17. Hector Barbera
18. Loris Baz
19. Jack Miller
20. Tito Rabat
21. Alex Lowes