Marc Marquez appears to have shrugged off the issues that were slowing him on Friday afternoon as he powered to the fastest time in FP3, with just 0.003s eventually separating him and Suzuki pace setter Maverick Vi?ales.

Conditions were similarly cool to the first day of free practice, but Marquez was the first rider to lap in the 2m 0s, with his speed through Silverstone's final sector proving decisive. Vi?ales was on course to displace the championship leader on his last run, only to lose close to 0.2s through the final three corners.

Andrea Iannone was third, 0.116s off the fastest time of the day. The Italian dusted himself down from a spill at turn twelve with just ten minutes to play to better his previous best on his second machine.

Showing the confidence gained by recent results at the Sachsenring and Brno, Cal Crutchlow was fourth fastest, having sat top of the time sheets with the clock running down. Jorge Lorenzo, particularly adept around the 3.6-mile circuit, was fifth and the fastest of the Yamaha M1s by some distance.

Scott Redding ensured two home riders were in the top six by showing well throughout the 45 minutes. The Englishman was 0.09s faster than factory Ducati man Andrea Dovizioso in seventh, with Dani Pedrosa automatically making his way into Q2 thanks to the eighth fastest time.

Aleix Espargaro confirmed the Suzuki GSX-RR's speed around this venue with the ninth fastest time, while Valentino Rossi narrowly made the cut into Q2 in tenth.

At the beginning of his fourth session aboard a MotoGP machine, Alex Lowes continued to find improvements with both himself and the bike. The Englishman took 0.8s off his personal best to place 16th overall, 2.1s off the fastest time, and just 0.9s slower than team-mate Pol Espargaro (eleventh).

Alvaro Bautista (19th) was another rider to fall at turn twelve, ensuring all five MotoGP crashers this weekend have fallen victim at the fast, bumpy Farm curve.

1. Marc Marquez
2. Maverick Vi?ales
3. Andrea Iannone
4. Cal Crutchlow
5. Jorge Lorenzo
6. Scott Redding
7. Andrea Dovizioso
8. Dani Pedrosa
9. Aleix Espargaro
10. Valentino Rossi
11. Pol Espargaro
12. Danilo Petrucci
13. Hector Barbera
14. Yonny Hernandez
15. Jack Miller
16. Alex Lowes
17. Loris Baz
18. Stefan Bradl
19. Alvaro Bautista
20. Eugene Laverty
21. Tito Rabat

CLICK HERE for full results.