MotoGP »

MotoGP Silverstone: Suzuki: 'Maverick was unbelievable'

"In this project there were many gambles" - Davide Brivio, Suzuki.
Maverick Vinales made Suzuki history by taking the GSX-RR to its first ever MotoGP victory in Sunday's British MotoGP.

Suzuki hadn't won a MotoGP race since Chris Vermeulen on a GSV-R in the rain at Le Mans in 2007, while it's last dry victory was back in 2000 with Kenny Roberts Jr, during the 500cc era.

Vinales, who began the race with one premier-class podium to his credit, led all 19 laps at Silverstone, his lead peaking at almost five-seconds before crossing the line 3.480s clear of Cal Crutchlow.

Team manager Davide Brivio, who signed the 21-year-old as a rookie for Suzuki's 2015 MotoGP return, was doing mental arithmetic as the laps counted down.

"Before the race we talked to Maverick. He knew he had to be careful with the tyres and I was hoping he was managing them," said Brivio, who previously oversaw Valentino Rossi's success at Yamaha from 2004-2010.

"I was thinking, 'OK, four seconds lead, eight laps left, half a second a lap.' Then, 'Four seconds, four laps... Should be enough.'

"But Maverick was unbelievable, so strong from the very beginning. All weekend. I mean, I'm very happy because it's like a clean win. Everyone was there. It was dry. We are really happy.

"I think our bike was very good, but of course Maverick was riding fantastic. I'm very happy for Suzuki. We worked very hard and I think it's a big reward for everyone behind us in Japan. We are a small factory."

The Italian added: "I think it's something historic. It's only our second year. We came back with a new project starting from zero. Of course it was not easy. This is a strong competition with strong manufacturers and strong riders.

"We came with a gamble at the beginning. We took a rookie from Moto2, after just one year. Some people said it was too early, he had to wait more or whatever.

"In this project there were many gambles. The rider was a rookie, the crew chief was a rookie, Suzuki was a rookie after coming back. I'm very happy. Now we hope now to continue like this."

From 2009-2015 MotoGP had only one new race winner, Ben Spies in 2011.

By contrast, Vinales was the fourth rider to claim a debut MotoGP win this season, and the seventh different winner from the twelve races.

Unfortunately for Suzuki, Vinales will leave at the end of this season to join Rossi at Movistar Yamaha.

In his place will be another rookie 'gamble' in the form of Moto2 star Alex Rins, with new Ducati race winner Andrea Iannone taking over from Aleix Espargaro on the other side of the Suzuki garage.

By Peter McLaren

Tagged as: Suzuki , Vinales

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Vinales, British MotoGP, 2016
Zarco, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Zarco, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Marquez, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Zarco, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Girl, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Girl, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Girl, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Girl, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Girl, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Girl, Dutch MotoGP 2017
Crowds, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Pulkkinen, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Sasaki, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Bulega, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Bendsneyder, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Bendsneyder, Dutch Moto3 race 2017
Bendsneyder, Dutch Moto3 race 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


September 05, 2016 3:38 PM

"From 2009-2015 MotoGP had only one new race winner, Ben Spies in 2011. " And Marquez (2013), and Dovizioso (2009). By first wins in the class: 2006: Elias, Bayliss 2007: Casey Stoner, Chris Vermeulen 2008: Jorge Lorenzo 2009: Andrea Dovizioso 2010: (No new winners) 2011: Ben Spies 2012: (No new winners) 2013: Marc Marquez 2014: (No new winners) 2015: (No new winners) 2016: Jack Miller, Andrea Iannone, Cal Crutchlow, Maverick Vinales

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.