Pol Espargaro emerged as the surprise pacesetter on Friday at Misano after topping FP2 on the Monster Tech 3 Yamaha.

Espargaro, who admitted earlier in the week that he was fortunate to be able to race in San Marino uninjured after being caught up in Loris Baz's nasty first-lap tumble at Silverstone, edged out Repsol Honda's Dani Pedrosa by only 0.065 seconds to put the satellite YZR-M1 at the head of the time sheets for Herve Poncharal's team.

Reigning MotoGP world champion Jorge Lorenzo had led for a time on the Movistar Yamaha until Espargaro - second fastest in FP1 - clocked the fastest time of the opening day in 1m 32.769s.

Pedrosa, fifth in the British Grand Prix at Silverstone, also forged ahead of Lorenzo to slot into second place on the Repsol Honda, lapping in 1m 32.834s to cap an encouraging afternoon for the Spanish rider.

Lorenzo eventually dropped to fourth place on the time sheets, 0.287s behind Espargaro as Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso climbed to third on the Desmosedici GP16, lapping in 1m 32.901s as the Italian finished 0.132s off the top. His team-mate, Andrea Iannone, has been ruled out of Ducati's home round of the championship following a spill in FP1 and has been sent for CT scans on a possible fractured vertebra.

Championship leader Marc Marquez, who was among the fallers in FP1, was fifth quickest on the second of the Repsol Honda machines while Valentino Rossi - fastest in the morning - ended the day sixth overall and sixth tenths behind Espargaro.

Silverstone runner-up and championship form man Cal Crutchlow on the LCR Honda was seventh after suffering a low-side in FP2, with fellow Britain Scott Redding (Pramac Ducati), Avintia Racing's Hector Barbera and British Grand Prix winner Maverick Vinales (Ecstar Suzuki) rounding out the top 10.

Aleix Espargaro, who incurred the wrath of Valentino Rossi after the Italian felt he had been held up by the Suzuki rider at the final corner, was 11th ahead of Danilo Petrucci (Pramac Ducati), with Aprilia's Alvaro Bautista, Ducati wild card entrant Michele Pirro and Alex Lowes on the Monster Tech 3 Yamaha the first 15.

Ireland's Eugene Laverty was 16th fastest on the Aspar Ducati ahead of Stefan Bradl (Gresini Aprilia), while Xavi Fores, who replaces the injured Loris Baz in the Avintia Racing team, was 21st behind Jack Miller (Marc VDS Honda).

1. Pol Espargaro
2. Dani Pedrosa
3. Andrea Dovizioso
4. Jorge Lorenzo
5. Marc Marquez
6. Valentino Rossi
7. Cal Crutchlow
8. Scott Redding
9. Hector Barbera
10. Maverick Vi?ales
11. Aleix Espargaro
12. Danilo Petrucci
13. Alvaro Bautista
14. Michele Pirro
15. Alex Lowes
16. Eugene Laverty
17. Stefan Bradl
18. Yonny Hernandez
19. Tito Rabat
20. Jack Miller
21. Javier Fores
Andrea Iannone

CLICK HERE for full results.