MotoGP »

MotoGP San Marino: Espargaro surprise package in FP2

Monster Tech 3 Yamaha's Pol Espargaro puts satellite M1 into top spot during FP2 at Misano after edging out Repsol Honda's Dani Pedrosa.
Pol Espargaro emerged as the surprise pacesetter on Friday at Misano after topping FP2 on the Monster Tech 3 Yamaha.

Espargaro, who admitted earlier in the week that he was fortunate to be able to race in San Marino uninjured after being caught up in Loris Baz's nasty first-lap tumble at Silverstone, edged out Repsol Honda's Dani Pedrosa by only 0.065 seconds to put the satellite YZR-M1 at the head of the time sheets for Herve Poncharal's team.

Reigning MotoGP world champion Jorge Lorenzo had led for a time on the Movistar Yamaha until Espargaro - second fastest in FP1 - clocked the fastest time of the opening day in 1m 32.769s.

Pedrosa, fifth in the British Grand Prix at Silverstone, also forged ahead of Lorenzo to slot into second place on the Repsol Honda, lapping in 1m 32.834s to cap an encouraging afternoon for the Spanish rider.

Lorenzo eventually dropped to fourth place on the time sheets, 0.287s behind Espargaro as Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso climbed to third on the Desmosedici GP16, lapping in 1m 32.901s as the Italian finished 0.132s off the top. His team-mate, Andrea Iannone, has been ruled out of Ducati's home round of the championship following a spill in FP1 and has been sent for CT scans on a possible fractured vertebra.

Championship leader Marc Marquez, who was among the fallers in FP1, was fifth quickest on the second of the Repsol Honda machines while Valentino Rossi – fastest in the morning – ended the day sixth overall and sixth tenths behind Espargaro.

Silverstone runner-up and championship form man Cal Crutchlow on the LCR Honda was seventh after suffering a low-side in FP2, with fellow Britain Scott Redding (Pramac Ducati), Avintia Racing's Hector Barbera and British Grand Prix winner Maverick Vinales (Ecstar Suzuki) rounding out the top 10.

Aleix Espargaro, who incurred the wrath of Valentino Rossi after the Italian felt he had been held up by the Suzuki rider at the final corner, was 11th ahead of Danilo Petrucci (Pramac Ducati), with Aprilia's Alvaro Bautista, Ducati wild card entrant Michele Pirro and Alex Lowes on the Monster Tech 3 Yamaha the first 15.

Ireland's Eugene Laverty was 16th fastest on the Aspar Ducati ahead of Stefan Bradl (Gresini Aprilia), while Xavi Fores, who replaces the injured Loris Baz in the Avintia Racing team, was 21st behind Jack Miller (Marc VDS Honda).

1. Pol Espargaro
2. Dani Pedrosa
3. Andrea Dovizioso
4. Jorge Lorenzo
5. Marc Marquez
6. Valentino Rossi
7. Cal Crutchlow
8. Scott Redding
9. Hector Barbera
10. Maverick Viñales
11. Aleix Espargaro
12. Danilo Petrucci
13. Alvaro Bautista
14. Michele Pirro
15. Alex Lowes
16. Eugene Laverty
17. Stefan Bradl
18. Yonny Hernandez
19. Tito Rabat
20. Jack Miller
21. Javier Fores
Andrea Iannone

CLICK HERE for full results.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Pol Espargaro, San Marino MotoGP 2016
Pedrosa, Zarco, Vinales, French MotoGP 2017
Rossi, Vinales, French MotoGP 2017
Iannone, French MotoGP 2017
Dovizioso, Crutchlow, French MotoGP 2017
Vinales, Zarco, Rossi, French MotoGP 2017
Vinales, Zarco, Rossi, French MotoGP 2017
Vinales, Zarco, Rossi, French MotoGP 2017
Vinales, Zarco, Rossi, French MotoGP 2017
Baz, Iannone French MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Petrucci French MotoGP 2017
Marquez, Pedrosa French MotoGP 2017
Marquez, Pedrosa French MotoGP 2017
Vinales, Zarco, Rossi French MotoGP 2017
Lorenzo, Petrucci French MotoGP 2017
Zarco, Rossi, French MotoGP 2017
Vinales, Zarco, Rossi, French MotoGP 2017
Marquez, Crutchlow, Pedrosa French MotoGP 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


September 09, 2016 3:05 PM

Garcia: Aparently Pedrosa has already found new crew chief for next year, Giacomo Guidetti, he's Reddings crew chief at the moment. Pedrosa's old crew chief will go to Miller, and Millers crew chief is going to Lorenzo. That's what's being reported. l dont know who Redding will be getting.
So Redding will be his own crewchief then.


September 09, 2016 4:58 PM

007: @Garcia, @ElbowDown93 and @ Woo58 Too funny, you guys are too much. It could be a sight to see Redding doubling down as crew chief.
Good to see humour on here for a change !

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.