Marc Marquez dominated FP3 for the Japanese MotoGP, while a massive highside sent reigning champion Jorge Lorenzo to hospital for a 'cranial CT scan'.

Dani Pedrosa had been ruled out by a fractured collarbone under similar circumstances on Friday, with Eugene Laverty also absent after his heavy fall - but hoping to get the green light to return this afternoon.

Lorenzo - fastest on day one - was launched skywards as he exited turn two in the closing stages, the Spaniard reaching a vertical height similar to his infamous 2008 Shanghai accident.

Instantly holding his right ankle, Lorenzo made an unsuccessful attempt to walk before being carried away on a stretcher. The #99 opted for a scooter ride, rather than ambulance, back to the pits, where he limped straight into the medical centre.

But Lorenzo was later seen being wheeled to a waiting helicopter, with a drip attached, and is to undergo 'a cranial CT scan' at a local hospital.

Meanwhile, Marquez led almost the entire session, the Repsol Honda star setting his best time on just his sixth of 19 laps and finishing 0.039s clear of LCR Honda's Cal Crutchlow.

Ducati riders Andrea Dovizioso and stand-in Hector Barbera were third and fourth, with Lorenzo fifth on combined times courtesy of his Friday lap. Aleix Espargaro was the leading Suzuki, with team-mate Maverick Vinales in seventh (but only 0.261s from Marquez) after not improving this morning.

Valentino Rossi, Pol Espargaro and Danilo Petrucci completed the top ten riders who will get direct access to Qualifying 2. Scott Redding was the first to miss out, despite a best time just 0.876s from the top.

Bradley Smith, returning from injury, improved by 1.3s with rookie Mike Jones - taking Barbera's place at Avintia - finding almost two-seconds, putting him on target to comfortably qualify for the race.

1. Marc Marquez
2. Cal Crutchlow
3. Andrea Dovizioso
4. Hector Barbera
5. Aleix Espargaro
6. Maverick Vi?ales
7. Valentino Rossi
8. Pol Espargaro
9. Jorge Lorenzo
10. Danilo Petrucci
11. Scott Redding
12. Stefan Bradl
13. Yonny Hernandez
14. Katsuyuki Nakasuga
15. Alvaro Bautista
16. Tito Rabat
17. Hiroshi Aoyama
18. Bradley Smith
19. Jack Miller
20. Loris Baz
21. Mike Jones
Eugene Laverty

CLICK HERE for full results.